Testimony Tuesday ~ Jody



                   

Ellen and Jody

This is my friend Jody’s testimony. She gave me permission to post it for Testimony Tuesday.

My testimony is so simple. I was born into a family where my parents loved Jesus.  So had their parents.  And their parents.  And the parents before them, who upon receiving Him sold their whiskey distillery and moved to the farm to raise their children to love Jesus. So when I was five years old, my father came to tuck me in at night and asked me what I knew about Jesus.  I told him that He is God and that He died on the cross to save me.  He asked me if there was anything Jesus wanted me to do, and I told him that He wanted me to ask Him into my heart.  He said,”Why not now?” and I said, “Sure!”  That was the beginning for me.  Fifty years ago.So I enjoy this tremendous heritage promised in Psalm 103:17 and 18 and claimed every day by those first distillery owners who prayed this promise for all their children and children’s children to come:

 17 But from everlasting to everlasting
       the LORD’s love is with those who fear him,
       and his righteousness with their children’s children-

 18 with those who keep his covenant
       and remember to obey his precepts.

Of course the rub is  “remembering to obey his precepts” and that’s the challenge of my life.  But life has been rich with His blessing.   I also have this overwhelming sense (because I’ve experienced it) of the blessing that will cover my children if I will be faithful, which puts this whole “living for Jesus” thing is a greater contextual scope.  It’s all good.  Praise Him. ~

If you’d like to read more testimonies click on Tim Challies. He is hosting “Testimony Tuesdays”. I think we’ll all be amazed at what wonderful things God has done for us! Blessings! 

4 thoughts on “Testimony Tuesday ~ Jody

Leave a Reply

