Remarks by John Newton ~ Out Of The Depths ~ Hymn

 The following excerpt is taken from, John Newton Out Of The Depths, an Autobiography

I have read of many wicked popes, but the worst pope I ever met with is Pope Self.

The heir of a great estate, while a child, thinks more of a few shillings in his pocket than of his inheritance. So a Christian is often more elated by some frame of heart than by his title to glory.

I feel like a man who has no money in his pocket, but is allowed to draw for all he wants upon one infinitely rich; I am, thererfore, at once both a beggar and a rich man.

Sometimes I compare the troubles which we have to undergo in the course of the year to a great bundle of [sticks], far too large for us to lift. But God does not require us to carry the whole at once; He mercifully unties the bundle, and gives us first one stick, which we are to carry today, and then another which we are to carry tomorow, and so on. This we might easily manage, if we would only take the burden appointed for us each day; but we choose to increase our troubles by carrying yesterday’s stick over again today, and adding tomorow’s burden to our load, before we are required to bear it.

“Out of the Depths”

It makes the wounded spirit whole,
And calms the troubled breast;
‘Tis manna to the hungry soul,
And to the weary rest.

Dear Name! the Rock on which I build;
My Shield and Hiding-place;
My never-failing Treasury fill’d
With boundless stores of grace.

By Thee my prayers acceptance gain,
Although with sin defiled;
Satan accuses me in vain,
And I am own’d a child.

Jesus! my Shepherd, Husband, Friend,
My Prophet, Priest, and King;
My Lord, my Life, my Way, my End,
Accept the praise I bring.

Weak is the effort of my heart,
And cold my warmest thought;
But when I see Thee as Thou art,
I’ll praise Thee as I ought.

Till then I would Thy love proclaim
With every fleeting breath;
And may the music of Thy Name
Refresh my soul in death!
                   ~John Newton

 

http://www.auburtin.fr/genealogie/images/bucheron_15.gif

6 thoughts on “Remarks by John Newton ~ Out Of The Depths ~ Hymn

  1. Ouch! This so describes me:

    we choose to increase our troubles by carrying yesterday’s stick over again today, and adding tomorow’s burden to our load, before we are required to bear it.

    humbled deeply by these words. Thank you – to the altar I go…

    Ellen back atcha…I hear you…the next time you’re at the altar mention my name. :)

  2. Ah, this is so good. Thank you for posting it!
    Sending warm hugs and prayers for you.

    Ellen back atcha…Thanks for finding my blog Vicki and love the warm hugs and prayers! Your site is beautiful BTW.

  3. do you council those who find life difficult ? My GOD has always been a merciful God who does not judge harshly . I am open minded to a point . I had joined a fundamentalist bible group and I came out confused , as the God they described was harsh and punishes people here and now on earth , with sickness etc …. I love God and I am ill , I have never thought myself worthy of God , this just made it worse . For as a human I have my frailities of anger , and at times lack of compassion .
    thank you for listening …Be in God’s peace …
    Caitrine

  4. Catrine,
    You are not alone in your frailties.
    I cannot claim to know and understand all of God’s ways. Here are some things I do know.
    Both discipline and blessing from God in a believers life are driven by God’s love. As believers we are blessed and the proper response to God is obedience to God out of love. God’s response to our obedience is blessing and this is grounded in his love. Blessings on you!

    If you happen to read this again, Catrine, I just read some verses today that I thought applied as well to your comment.
    1 Thess. 5: 9-11 “For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live for him. Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.”

Leave a Reply

