WFMW ~ Meals on Wheels

 Wfmwheader

 When I’m asked to take a meal to someone who is laid up due to surgery or when someone comes home from the hospital after having a baby, I try to keep it simple. Here is a simple meal that I made last week to share with someone who had surgery. It’s got protein, veggies, and rice all in one dish. Easy to transport and I just add some extras like grapes and cookies and bread to take along.

  Heat 1 T. oil in pan on medium heat. Add 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut in strips; cook and stir until lightly browned, stirring occassionally.     (Season the chicken lightly with salt and pepper)  Although the recipe didn’t call for it I would add some onion sauteed in the pan first before adding the chicken.

 

ADD 3 cups cut-up fresh vegetables (carrots, broccoli and red pepper) cook and stir 3 to 5 min. or until crisp-tender.

Stir in 1 can of chicken broth (14- 1/2 oz.) and bring to a boil.

 

Stir in 2 cups of instant rice (I used instant brown rice) and 1/4 C. Kraft Zesty Italian dressing: cover. Reduce heat to low. Cook 5 min. or until liquid is absorbed and chicken is cooked through.

The finished product. (BTW: I usually double the recipe so that I can take a meal and feed my family the same meal, too)

I added some focaccia bread, red grapes, cookies, and lilies to take along with the main dish.

Now here is a tip that the recipient of your meal is sure to appreciate. Take the meal to them in totally disposable containers. It can be quite the project for someone who is ill or laid up to return dishes to their rightful owners! And this is what those bulky Costco boxes you get at the checkout can come in handy for, to transport a meal.

Now you can head over to Rocks in My Dryer to see more Works For Me Wednesday posts…

18 thoughts on “WFMW ~ Meals on Wheels

  1. Being the recipient of a few meals after the birth of my children, I truly appreciate your disposable container suggestion! That is fantastic and thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

  2. I have been put on bedrest with each pregnancy. I have received many meals from loved ones. the only thing I’d add to what you stated (YES do make containers disposable, please!!) is that when you give the meal put a sticky note on top giving heating/cooking instructions. Some things you don’t cook completely as the reheating will make yukky, others just need to be zapped and go.

    A funny aside to this, When I was on bedrest the second time with my first child my step-mom brought over several meals (I was on for a month that time) She had little cooking ins notes on each package…many simply said heat in microwave till warm and enjoy…about 2 weeks after Sonshine was born she was visiting and realized that we didn’t own a microwave. We laughed and laughed.

    Mighty Mom, I love the microwave story! L.O.L. Blessings…

  3. Nice pictures and a yummy looking meal. Last time I brought a meal I did a roasted chicken with carrots, onions and potatoes. It smelled incredible! I added a salad, fruit and brownies. Yum.

  4. During some bad old colicky days early on with our new little one, I discovered how deeply important these meals could be for a new mom. I became a firm believer in delivering them when I can. And right on with disposable stuff – no one needs the extra hassle of having to wash and return pans.

    Thanks for this great recipe.

  5. This is great! Being a minister’s wife (and also having extra time on my hands) I feel like I should be taking meals to people more often but also being a young wife I still have trouble just cooking for us. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe and good tips! :)

  6. That sounds yummy! That’s a great point to take things in disposable containers. I was on bedrest for 6 months and I was so stressed out trying to remember which dish went to which person.

  7. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  8. Another nice suggestion is to include disposable plates, cups, utensils, etc. That way there is no clean-up required.

    Mira,
    that’s a great suggestion…thanks.

  9. Thanks for linking me to this recipe. Also a good idea about the disposable stuff; we had a heck of a time remembering what dish went back to who after our baby was born. Ended up taking a box to the church for people to pick through and claim their Tupperware. Disposable is much easier!

Leave a Reply

