WFMW ~ Facial Hair?

I found this tip in the Good Housekeeping Magazine while “my color” was setting up at the hairdressers. Since I come from a culture (genes) that seems to have an excess of hair (eyebrows, face, arms, legs) I read carefully and decided to spread the joy with y’all.

Try drinking two cups of spearmint tea a day. In a small Turkish study, women who did this for 5 days had a significant drop in levels of circulating testosterone, a male hormone that can lead to heavy hair growth. To make the tea the way the researchers did pour 1 cup boiling water over 1 heaping teaspoon dried spearmint leaves; steep for 5-10 minutes.

Note: You might want to offer your husband a different beverage. Four or more cups of spearmint tea a day can lower a man’s sex drive due to his testosterone levels.

You can read more of what works for others at Rocks in My Dryer.

11 thoughts on “WFMW ~ Facial Hair?

  1. Awesome tip, thanks. I wonder if you can use fresh spearmint leaves? I’ll have to check out the article!!! I too come from a long line of women (my dad’s side – all italian) with excessive body hair and as I’ve gotten older, it all seems to be on my face… YUCK!

  2. That is so cool! I’ve been wondering what I can do (short of lazer hair removal..scary!) to help with this problem. Not that I am excessivly hairy mind you, but the ones I do have are very dark. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Might want to give hubby a different drink?? Are you kidding??? I’m going to start lacing everything he eats and drinks with spearmint!

    I’ve got two babies, people. A girl’s gotta get some sleep.

    Amy, LOL ~ that’s what the article suggests, not me. :)

  4. I have a feeling there’s going to be a lot of spearmint growing in our yards from now on!!!

    oh and Amy, you are too funny – my thoughts exactly!!

Leave a Reply

