WFMW ~ Hands On Wooden Nativity

When my kids were little we bought this small wooden nativity set at Disneyland one year. We wanted something that the kids would be able to touch and move around all they wanted without the danger of breaking. It was always fun to see how they would rearrange it after I set it up! We’ve been enjoying it for at least 22 years. The shepherd has lost his staff, one of the lambs only has 3 legs, and the stable frame has cracked and been re-glued. This hands on wooden Nativity still works for us!

To see more WFMW click here.

19 thoughts on “WFMW ~ Hands On Wooden Nativity

  1. I love the idea of getting the kids involved in the nativity. This year, D-Man took all of his Little People that go w/ his nativity set and lined them up. When I asked him why they were lined up, he simply replied, “They are looking at Baby Jesus.” He is only 2 (29 months to be exact) but I feel in my heart that he might actually be getting the true meaning of Christmas.

    Thanks for visiting my site! Merry Christmas and blessings for a wonderful 2008.

  2. That’s a very nice one. I very much like your thoughtfulness toward your children.
    When I picked my nativity (as a teen, long before the thought of children or even marriage) I picked one that would resist California earthquakes. It also worked very well when our son came along. I also bought him his very own Playmobile nativity (plastic toy) so he could have it in his room and play with it all he wanted too!

  3. You’ve given your kids an amazing gift. Every child deserves rich holiday memories, and you’ve ensured they’ll have just that.

    My WW contribution is now posted here:

    http://writteninc.blogspot.com/2007/12/wordless-wednesday-antisocial.html

    This week, I’m also participating in an online effort to help find a young woman who went missing in Montreal. If you know anyone who lives in this region, I hope you’ll drop by my blog and follow the link.

    Thanks so much, and happy WW!

    Carmi

  4. How awesome!!! That is truly a family heirloom. And used for 22 years….well, all I can say is that I hope it’s still around for you and your family for another two or three generations. Awesome.

  5. My mom is getting us the Fischer Price Nativity this year for Sarah and it’ll be so fun to see her “get” the meaning of Christmas… Right now she’s just saying “Merry Jesus” which is just fine with me!

Leave a Reply

