Potato and Ham Chowder

 

This is a simple recipe from a blogger I tried and it was very tasty for boxed pototoes! It’s a slow cooker recipe…

Potato and Ham Chowder

1 pkg. of boxed scalloped potatoes (any variety you prefer)
1 cup diced ham
2 stalk of diced celery
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 cups half & half
1/3 cup flour
5 cups chicken broth
1 diced onion (any size you like)

Mix potatoes, sauce mix, ham, broth, celery, onion & pepper in crock pot. Cover and cook on low heat for 7 hours.

 

Mix half & half with the flour, gradually stir flour mixture into chowder until blended. Cover and cook on low for one more hour stirring occasionally until thick. For a less thick soup, use regular milk instead of half & half. Garnish with chopped green onion, shredded cheese, or sour cream if desired.

 

Very thick and yummy soup. Since I served it up on blue dishes I thought this would be a perfect choice for Blue Monday. I bought these blue dishes from Target on a super clearance. They were from their Christmas collection a couple years ago.

 

Enjoy!

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I posted on my blog from 2007-2015 hostage and replaced them with big black and grey boxes with threats. So discouraging…as I’m slowly trying to clean up thousands of posts!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

16 thoughts on “Potato and Ham Chowder

  1. Hi there
    Oh I love recipes like that. I like to mix box with other ingredients…it makes them sooo different and yummy. I am going to definately have to try that one. It looks so good I could have some right now, its lunch time!

    Thank you and have a lovely day
    Judi

  2. What beautiful blue dishes. I like that shade of blue very much. THat is a yummy looking recipe…and it looks so easy!

    Happy Blue Monday.

    take care,
    Dawn

  3. Thanks for sharing, Ellen (and Connie). It’s a perfect and easy recipe for a widower liked me and is obviously hearty enough to warm my belly on the cold Winter months ahead here in the Panhandle of Idaho.

    I was blue ’til I found your Blue Monday post.

    Bless you,

    Bob

  4. I must say, you make my simple chowder recipe look simply fabulous!! 🙂

    I’ve been on the go so much this past month that I’m just now catching up with many of my favorite blogs–your’s is one of them!!!

    So, thanks for passing along my recipe and for ‘dressing it up’ so nicely–love the blue dishes!!! 🙂 Blessings! (P.S. I’ve been craving Borsch lately!!!) 🙂

Leave a comment