Tablescape Tuesday ~ Black and Gold

Welcome to another round of Tablescape Tuesday hosted by Susan at Between Naps on the Porch. Today I’m sharing the table I set for an early birthday dinner for our two sons. Both of their birthdays are in January and Dear and I will not be in Washington on their birthdays so we decided to celebrate with them while we were still in Washington last Friday night.

I bought these great black and gold dishes at Target Christmas clearance. I got 8 dinner plates and 8 salad plates for under $30. I thought they had a more masculine feel than some of my other dishes for the guys!

The heavy black iron candle holder for the centerpiece with the Fleur de lis design was a find at Goodwill a while back. Again, I liked the heavier bulkier look for the guys.

Christmas clearance at Target was great. I went on the day everything was 75% off. The Fleur de lis napkin rings were under $5 for 8 of them. The little gold cocktail napkins were $1.24 for a 4 pack. The two pack of goblets that I decided to turn into candle holders were clearance also but I forget how much. The shimmery gold tablecloth was originally from the Pottery Barn that I bought at Goodwill. Now the really great thing about this tablescape is that we actually sat down and ate dinner at it. It was a great time of celebrating Josh and Dan’s lives and thanking God for them and how they’ve enriched all of our lives!

Josh is married to Laura and all four of these young adults graduated from Inglemoor Highschool in the Northshore School District of Washington in the late 90’s and early 2000’s.  They chuckled at the fact that Black and Gold were their High School colors! Go Vikings! My sister Lana G! was able to join us for our dinner celebration, too. Fun times….

For more Tablescapes around the blogisphere visit Susan at Between Naps on the Porch.

34 thoughts on “Tablescape Tuesday ~ Black and Gold

  1. LOVE it! I was just near Target a little while ago…and I thought about running in…and didn’t (ugh). I love the fleur de lis napkin rings…and the black and gold…looks so rich! Beautiful!!

  2. Beautiful table. I’ve caught the bug from you. I’m waiting for a delivery today from an After Christmas sale order with Crate and Barrel. Red chargers and then I found fun plates in two sizes at Pottery Barn on sale. I can’t wait to set a table with my finds.

  3. How wonderful that your color scheme had a personal meaning to the celebrants. Everything looks just wonderful. You got some fantastic bargains in you after season clearance. Love the design on the plates.

  4. Yet another beautiful table and meal!! I haven’t even been in a store since Christmas….but I know it’s the best time to shop!
    The black and gold color theme is stunning and appropriate for the guys!! And, good for other times, too!

  5. What a beautiful table! It is stunning and I could see where a guy could appreciate it too, although, guys rarely admit to that sort of thing LOL I can say that because I have three sons :>) I like the way you did the black and gold. It looks like you had a wonderful time.

  6. I love it. I actually saw those dishes at Target, but i thought they were brown and gold. I have trouble with dark brown, black and dark blue sometimes. Darn it, I should have bought them. mishelle

  7. Ellen B., your tables are always so beautifully set. I saw those dishes and just LOVED them. So sad for me as I have absolutely no cupboard space available plus having no children of my own who would I leave all these wonderful things to?

    I hope you have a great Tuesday! :) Cori G.

  8. You took a guy inspired table and made it pretty. Or was it the other way around? A pretty table and made it guy appropriate. Any how……..Lovely.

  9. GASP — ELLEN! You outdid yourself again! I am not normally a black person — but your black and gold combination is simply classy and stunning! I love the gold accents on the black plates!! SIMPLY LOVELY!!!!! I think this might be one of my favorites of all your tablescapes!

  10. Were they impressed? They should have been! It is a gorgeous table! I love the fact you got such good prices from Target! I missed that sale I’m afraid! Very nice table, VERY NICE!

  11. I love your tablescape. It is masculine and at the same time it’s very elegant. The black and gold are very classy either way. I am having a blast getting ideas from everyone. And I have certainly gotten some great ideas from you. Your style reminds me of my own. I love very clean lines. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for your kind words about my tablescape.

  12. I was clicking back on your comment to thank you and saw Mrs. Tiggy Winkles!!! Not everyone knows dear Mrs. Tiggy Winkles, so I think I have found a friend!…Debbie

    Debbie! Yes I do love Mrs. Tiggy and most all things Beatrix Potter!!

  13. Ellen, that is a fabulous table you have set. Black and gold is so dramatic and beautiful, and you certainly (as you always do) got some incredible bargains. I like the fish gift bag too!

  14. Hi Ellen, Sorry I got here so late tonight. I did look at your beautiful tablescape earlier today and then the phone rang. Oops! I LOVE it! It is the most gorgeous and unique one from today’s TT. Just a lovely post in every detail. Your centerpiece and napkin rings are stunning.
    Thanks so much for your kind words on mine as well.
    Have a wonderful week. ~Melissa :)

  15. I love it! I saw those plates at Target before Christmas and loved them…but never made it back in to see what they had after Christmas…maybe it’s not too late?
    You really got some great buys and set a beautiful birthday table with a masculine yet elegant touch! I love those chargers, too!
    Great family pics!

  16. Great tablescape…so regal and yes, masculine. Love the wrought iron centerpiece. Bet the boys felt like royalty for their birthday celebration. I love anything Fleur de lis so you know I love those napkin rings! So great to see Lana! :-) Happy B’day to your boys!
    Susan

  17. Pingback: Discount Plates Cure Holiday Withdrawal | GoodyBlog

  18. Hi! I have the same dishes you have pictured here but I need 4 more place settings for Thanksgiving this year. You don’t want to sell them now, do you?
    Pam

  19. This is beautiful!!! It has inspired me for my wedding table setting. If you could give information on the brands of the napkin rings and the plates that would be amazing.

    Thanks,

    Susan

  20. Pingback: Winter Greetings by Lenox: Welcome to the 20th Tablescape Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

