I’ve Anchored in Jesus ~ Hymn

I’ve Anchored in Jesus

Upon life’s boundless ocean where mighty billows roll,
I’ve fixed my hope in Jesus, blest anchor of my soul;
When trials fierce assail me as storms are gathering o’er,
I rest upon His mercy and trust Him more.

Refrain

I’ve anchored in Jesus, the storms of life I’ll brave,
I’ve anchored in Jesus, I fear no wind or wave.
I’ve anchored in Jesus, for He hath power to save,
I’ve anchored to the Rock of Ages.

He keeps my soul from evil and gives me blessèd peace,
His voice hath stilled the waters and bid their tumult cease;
My Pilot and Deliverer, to Him I all confide,
For always when I need Him, He’s at my side.

Refrain

He is my Friend and Savior, in Him my anchor’s cast,
He drives away my sorrows and shields me from the blast;
By faith I’m looking upward beyond life’s troubled sea,
There I behold a haven prepared for me.

Refrain

Words & Music: Lewi­s E. Jones, 1901 (MI­DI, score).

8 thoughts on “I’ve Anchored in Jesus ~ Hymn

  1. Your comment is so true ellen, the words are more and more precious as we grow deeper in our understanding and relationship with Jesus our anchor. May you have blessed peace today as you travel.

  2. Good morning Ellen B.,

    Wow! This is a fitting hymn for what’s ahead in our world. May we all keep our eyes steadfastly on Him and not be shaken as our lives are all affected by these trying and exciting times!
    I hope you have safe travels.

    xoxo Cori G.

  3. I’m so glad you posted this because I’m not familiar with this hymn. Now I need to look it up. You couldn’t hum a few bars for me, could you? (smile)

    What a great post. Love the photo!

    All the best, Lana @ Showers of Blessings

  4. I just found your blog today. How refreshing.
    This song was one of my dear father’s favorites. He would have celebrated his
    103rd birthday last March… but is in Glory with mom waiting for us children and grands to come home!

    I was looking for the song and ran into our beautiful blog.

Leave a Reply

