Sixty Years from the Day…

… I was born I was given some royal treatment!

Monday March 14th was my birthday and I had no idea what was up the sleeves of my kids. I knew we were going out to dinner at an Italian Restaurant downtown and we’d be leaving just before 6:00 in the evening.

When we stepped outside to get into what I thought was going to be Laura’s car I saw this!

The kids had ordered up a limousine to take us to our dinner in Seattle. “No Way”, I said!

I never dreamed they would come up with this special treat. Dear and I had never had a ride together in a limousine before last night.

The kids weren’t the only ones with surprises. The restaurant managed to surprise us all, too.

We had a private area behind some sheers with this pretty chandelier and then we were handed our Menus.

A personalized menu just for my birthday. How great is that!? There even was a cocktail with my name on it. The cocktail is on their regular menu. They didn’t make it up just for me but I pretended they did and indulged!

The Ellen…

They turned the lights down very low in the restaurant so my pictures are all dimmed, too.

This is our table behind the sheers.

This made our meal together very private compared to other areas of the restaurant.

Dan and I had the Ossobuco di Vitello with saffron risotto. It was so delicious.

This was Dear’s dessert a ricotta cheesecake.

My complimentary birthday bite. I’m thinking at 60 all desserts should be this size.

I was impressed with the bathroom mirrors.

Such a wonderful evening and we still had our limousine ride home. When we got home there was more. Josh and Laura gave me a gift certificate for a massage with a handmade card that is priceless. Dan paid for dinner and also gave me a card that made me want to cry. I received other cards with gifts of manicures and pedicures and a handmade card from my BFF from junior high and high school. Before dinner I got a special phone call from Texas and my sweet little 3 year old niece sang Happy Birthday to me all the way through by herself. Oh my…that was precious. My heart is full and I am grateful for all the wonderful birthday treats and wishes I have received. I’m savoring my moments.

19 thoughts on “Sixty Years from the Day…

  1. I hadn’t realized this was the big 60. What a great way to celebrate! You have a very thoughtful family. I am sure they assimilated at least some of it from their very thoughtful mom. :-)

  2. Wow how exciting for you and so thoughtful of your kids…….The limo wow that is so sweet………….and the handwritten cards, the special birthday memo from the restaurant …..I will never be able to go to your neck of the woods without stopping there for dinner…..sounds exquisite……..and such elegance reminding us that even tho the calendar says we are a year older …..we are now gently seasoned in elegance and a different kind of splendour from our exciting, fascinating 20′s. How gracefully you receive these, honoring is so sweet for the givers as well……….Blessings dear Ellen……

  3. Happy Birthday! Thanks for taking us along with you on this very special trip!! I don’t think I’ve ever even seen the inside of a limousine, and loved this peek, oh, it even has lights wrapped around the inside! You so much remind me of myself! I’m always taking pictures of us in mirrors, and chandeliers, that would have been the first thing I snapped! We have almost the same birthday, mine is March 9. The food looks lovely, and how cool that special menu is, I bet you will always keep it. What a wonderful and thoughtful family you have!!

  4. You are either going in or going out in style…whatever enjoy it while it lasts. Looks like your family has gone all out for someone who has done that herself for 60 years. You’ve given so much to them and what a blessing they are to you.

  5. They really know how to make a 60th special…those kids of yours! Turning 60 is beginning to look quite appealing. (Like I have a choice!)

  6. Happy Birthday – a little belated – wishing for an amazing year for you! You received such royal treatment! I’m impressed! Thanks for sharing your wonderful celebrations with us. I agree that all desserts should be bite size – that’s usually all I have room for at the end of a delicious meal!

  7. What awesome way to celebrate! Your family sure loves you and gave you a wonderful present and wonderful day. I wish you a very Happy Birthday as well and a wonderful year to follow.

    ~Linnea

  8. Your kids look so happy to be giving you this treat. There’s no doubt that they learned this generosity from you …..I know that from your blogs :)

  9. I love people who spoil other people … and I love that the spoiled person was YOU ! What a special evening you had with a special family!

Leave a Reply

