Southern Hospitality…

Our last meal out in Atlanta was at Sweet Georgia’s Juke Joint. We were happy that our concierge recommended it. We were treated to some fine Southern cuisine and hospitality.

Juke (Jook) of African origin, meaning “to dance”, jerking movements of celebration.

Fried green tomatoes with okra and caramelized onions, delicious.

Seafood Gumbo with just the right amount of kick to it.

Beef Brisket sandwich on Texas Toast with sweet potato fries.

A close-up of the brisket sandwich. We ended up splitting the sandwich and the gumbo.

We left Sweet Georgia’s full and satisfied and glad we had some good “Southern” food while in Atlanta, Georgia.

Before our lunch at Sweet Georgia’s we had walked to and from the Oakland Cemetery.  The Oakland Cemetery was so full of interesting history I’ll be dividing my photos into at least two more posts to share from Atlanta with you.

We’ve had our heat on for the majority of the day this week. Things have really cooled down. I’ve seen some pretty substantial snow on the ground from bloggy friends in Alberta and other parts of the country. That seems early, doesn’t it?

11 thoughts on “Southern Hospitality…

  1. Thanks a lot, Ellen! It is 10:30 p.m., and now I’m starving. That food looks soooo good. I’m glad you had some good So. food too, but now I want some, and it’s too late at night. laurie

  2. Oh this renewed my joy. A friend is going to share some green tomatoes with me. I grew up enjoying Faux Apple pie…made with green tomatoes. You really couldn’t tell a great difference with Apple pie seasoning added. We only had ketchup back then for our fried green tomatoes, but I’m sure I can make some yummy sauce today. Looking forward to the cemetery pictures…..I love cemeteries and the variety of monuments and headstones. We have having our usual October Indian Summer this week. It is going to be in the upper 80’s with a lot of humidity again today….then we get a cold front tomorrow. The winds have been howling, the leaves flying and swirling around. I’m kind of looking forward to cooler weather, to sit around our fire pit on the front porch and star gaze bundled up with a blanket. LOVE our 4 seasons!

  3. Well, that was some good food! But being a Georgia girl, I will have to say that wasn’t “Real” southern cooking! ha! ha! Next time you come here, you need to come visit me. I’ll give you the real thing!! :-) Glad you enjoy our Capital city!!

    • I’ll have to take you up on that Miss Debbie. Of course the way we were treated at this restaurant was the best part of “Southern Hospitality!” That part was real for sure! :0)

  4. isn’t that funny – I always imagined green fried tomatoes as green! of course they wouldn’t be – they’re breaded. I must admit every dish looks delicious – and I’m hungry. wish I could drop in there for a bite!!

    We have the fire on today – very cosy!

Leave a Reply

