Looking Back at Fall Scapes…

I’m busy thinking about the last few recipes I need to complete for our new cookbook. I’m also beginning to make plans for our Thanksgiving celebration.

Our son Dan will be making the trek across the mountains over Snoqualmie Pass to join us for Thanksgiving.

We decided to invite mutual friends of Dan’s and ours for our time together. With our friends and with my sister and husband there will be 10 of us.

Josh and Laura will be celebrating with Laura’s family this year. Those of you with married kids will understand the every other year concept for holidays.

Katie and Andrew can’t travel far so they will be joining Andrew’s father and step-mom in Florida for Thanksgiving.

We have a fun get together to look forward to next week in downtown Seattle with some Canadian friends I’ll share more next week.

I made Osso Buco for the first time on Wednesday night and boy was it good. Did I just pat myself on the back? I love to order it when it’s on the menu when we eat out and decided to try it in my own kitchen. I’ll have to share the recipe on MGCC blog soon. I also bought Katie a fun little apparel item for the Marine Ball that she finally gets to attend this year. I’m mailing it tomorrow and I’ll let you know if she decides to wear it instead of returning it. I always include the receipt with my impulsive buys and have no problem if they are returned…

I’m thankful for people who understand me and my griefs and joys and my humor which needs some explanation at times. What are you thankful for and what are your Fall plans?

I’m linking with Cuisine Kathleen for Let’s Dish and hoping her power stays on in Long Island and that the Nor’easter doesn’t add any more damage where damage has been done! Praying for you Kathleen and others on the East coast!!

19 thoughts on “Looking Back at Fall Scapes…

  1. I have never made or eaten Osso Buco, but it’s OK to pat yourself on the back for it! We have to recognize our own talents and skills to be able to thank God for them! It sounds like you are going to have a wonderful holiday. It’s so fast approaching!!!!!! I must admit I have never gotten used to the every other holiday thing. I only have one kid, and I want that kid here for ALL holidays. The good news is that with his current girlfriend there are so many in-laws and out-laws that they never celebrate holidays on the actual day anyway, so I’m in luck! :-)

  2. Boy do I need some of that organization. Our youngest will fly in from Colorado for Thanksgiving and it is our oldest daughters birthday that day. I so need to get busy thinking. I’m praying if God blesses us with sons in laws that we will be the cool, fun, non-jealous in-laws that blend into a new extended family. I have never had Osso Buco….looking forward to your recipe. After 30 years of cooking I do get bored…always love to try new things. Pinterest has opened a whole new world to me of things to cook. Looking forward to the new cookbook and all God blesses with the proceeds. So cool!

  3. I would love to try making Osso Buco. Sounds fabulous. I have to say my heart skipped a beat when you said Snoqualmie Pass. We went to the Snowqualmie Falls restaurant when we were dating 34 years ago in December and I was swept off my feet. It has changed a lot over the years but back then it was the most magical thing. I think that is why I married my husband (just kidding). I know about the juggling with married kids for the holidays. Hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  4. Always always a wonderful dear lady. I understand about juggling kids…but have not experienced kids having to come from so far…and so I will be thinking about your less than full table at Thanksgiving.
    You have it all mapped out!

  5. I love Osso Buco! I have not made it for a while, but you have inspired me to make it again. Your table is lovely and I am sure that you will have a wonderful time.

    Hugs,
    Susan and Bentley

  6. You have me wondering what Osso Buco is? I’ll head over to the MGCC to find out! Love to hear about your plans, see the table set and all!! Your kids will miss your cooking!! Your cooking(I can tell) must be over the top wonderful!!

  7. Ellen, how fun to have ten around the table! Thanksgiving just CALLS for a crowd for the big meal. Neither of our offspring can be with us this year, so we have invited some almost-family to join us. Congrats on making osso buco! My husband makes a great one — I think I need to remind him to make it again soon!

  8. Hi Ellen, I’m enjoying your fall scapes. I’ll be watching for the Osso Buco recipe. Not something I’ve eaten but have always heard good things about it.

    We are enjoying some Washington weather here today…clouds and rain. Yippee!

  9. Ellen, I don’t even know what Osso Buco is! My dining experiences are limited. Pretty table, and it sounds like you’ll have a great group for T’giving. I am so fortunate that my children’s spouses all live in the same town where we live. So far, I’ve never missed any holiday with my grands, and I count that as one of my blessings in life. laurie

  10. Congrats to your Sounders! We are having Thanksgiving at our daughter’s house since ours is a mess with construction! The plan is that all the kids and grands will be there…that makes 13 of us! Hoping everyone stays well and can come. Our Little E has the flu.:-( She and her mom spent the afternoon here yesterday after going to the doctor. Praying her folks nor I get it! Your table is so pretty…look forward to seeing what you do this year!

  11. All so pretty, Ellen! Can’t what to see what you sent Katie, and look forward to pics of the ball.
    Thanks so much for your good wishes, we were very blessed to have such little damage.
    My sister just got her power back after 2 weeks, and had to deal with 6 inches of snow too. Her little gson had a very long surgery and is in icu, and she was unable to get there due to the gas problem etc. I know you are a good pray er, :) please say one for 8 yo Thomas, so very sick.

    I know you will be overjoyed to have your son home for Tgiving, many blessings!

Leave a Reply

