A Small Interruption…

…to my Christmas table decor.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t88/lnbseattle/Christmas%202012/Xmas-Wellingtonredo039.jpg

While working on my recipes for our Celebrations Cook book being published at the end of April in 2013 I had to redo one of my recipes which meant I needed to change out my Christmas table. I chose to set the table using my pewter pieces since my entree was a traditional English recipe. Some of my pewter pieces were acquired in England in the 70’s.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t88/lnbseattle/Christmas%202012/Xmas-Wellingtonredo040.jpg

The pewter wine goblets and the Coffee service with creamer and sugar containers along with the salt and pepper shakers are from England.  I decided to use the coffee pot as a vase on this occasion. The candle holders are Revere ware and the flatware is Gorham pewter. The chargers were gifted to us from our son and DIL for Christmas one year.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t88/lnbseattle/Christmas%202012/Xmas-Wellingtonredo041.jpg

The runner is a gift from our son and DIL, too. I liked adding in the green goblets with the pewter.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t88/lnbseattle/Christmas%202012/Xmas-Wellingtonredo042.jpg

The dishes are Royal Stafford and I think I purchased them at Marshalls.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t88/lnbseattle/Christmas%202012/Xmas-Wellingtonredo066.jpg

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t88/lnbseattle/Christmas%202012/Xmas-Wellingtonredo070.jpg

I enjoy this table but soon it will be reset to our casual Christmas setting.

Now I need to get busy getting our Christmas cards ready to send out. Do you send out Christmas cards and do you add a personal note or do you type one Christmas letter to be included in all your cards?

We received good news yesterday from North Carolina! Our son-in-law is now a Marine Corporal. We are so proud of his achievement. I’m hoping to get an updated photo of him with his new blood stripes and pins along with his sword soon. Congratulations Marine Corporal Andrew!

15 thoughts on “A Small Interruption…

  1. A festive table doesn’t need Christmas colours to be Christmas-worthy. This table is so pretty and I look forward to seeing it featured in the next book.
    Congratulations to the new Marine Corporal! That is an accomplishment!
    I haven’t started my cards yet – perhaps next week when I get home. It takes me a long time because I have to include a hand-written note in each one.

  2. Love the pewter!! Congrats to Andrew…know you all are so proud of him! I type a Christmas letter since I only send them to folks we don’t see much during the year. Mine are ready to mail…just have to buy the stamps!

  3. Wow, I really like this table. I bet your kids think its an easy gift to find table things for you….you do so well setting a lovely table. \o/ Celebrating with you all for Andrew’s promotion!!!!! I actually bought some cards this year. I don’t get it done every year but we usually try and include a letter and this years is going to be FILLED with CHANGE. It’s been a doozy of a year. My dad landed in the hospital again and I thought I was going to have to make a trip down to hospital sit so I grabbed some nice cards and figured while I sat there I could get those done this year. I love catching up with friends lives and I am quite content with a letter.

  4. Congrats on your good news from North Carolina! The table looks set for a celebration…for sure. Beautiful!

    As for Christmas cards…at this point all I have are good intentions!

  5. What wonderful news! Congratulations to Andrew!!! You all must be very proud! Very pretty table, Ellen. I’m such a big fan of that Royal Stafford pattern, and the green runner really helps to enhance the whole look!

  6. Oh – that tablesetting is perfect for an English country manor!!!! That light yellow runner is the perfect touch to highlight the pewter!!! Just beautiful.

    Congrats to Andrew.

    I am on and off re: Christmas cards. If I do send them out, I usually include a handwritten note.

  7. Too bad you had to redo, but I am glad to have seen this table. About cards, I don’t send so many these days but I did buy Santa stamps today that need to go on something.

  8. Congratulations to Andrew!
    Pretty scape, Ellen. You forgot to link up?
    I gave up sending cards a few years ago. My niece is a doc at St. Jude’s, so I donate the card and stamp money there instead.

Leave a Reply

