The 1st of February!

Today is a great day to reflect on the good things in our lives. I’m joining Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for Friday’s Fave Five.

1. Being able to read and study. Currently we are studying the gospel of John in our Women’s Bible Study and it has really been good. I’m reading a biography on Bonhoeffer that is teaching me a lot about Germany in the 30’s – 40’s and Bonhoeffer’s growth in faith and what that meant for him in Natzi Germany. I’m also reading several different travel guides for Milan and the Lakes in Italy to prepare for our trip in March.

2. Family and Friends to support and enrich our lives. The rich heritage I enjoy and having a family and friends that support me in so many ways can never be taken for granted.

3. Ingredients in abundance that we can buy and put together to make a satisfying dish. It’s great to have taste buds that are willing to try something new. I’m enjoying the adventure of cooking. Sharing what I’ve cooked with others is the cherry on top!

4. Products that make life easier. A few of these many products have gotten enough wear and tear around this old house that they are giving up on us. There are those that we don’t hesitate to replace because we just aren’t willing to live without them. One of those items was my wireless mouse! I’m still attached to a mouse even with my laptop. My fingers just don’t want to do the scrolling on the pad…

5. Shows that entertain us and even teach us something new. I enjoy period pieces like Downton Abbey where you are entertained while getting a picture of what life was like during different periods in history. I also watch shows like Biggest Loser and find it rewarding to see the progress of the contestants. Sometimes I’m inspired to add some healthy alternatives to my life.

What good things are you thankful for today?

22 thoughts on “The 1st of February!

  1. I am grateful for some of the same things you are grateful for….family, friends, food in abundance, the ability to read, the freedom to worship and travel, and something “clean” to watch n TV!!! Enjoy your weekend!!

  2. A hearty AMEN from over here! Have a great weekend (and don’t watch the whole season all at once!). I have yet to unwrap mine.

  3. I too ‘need’ my wireless mouse and happy to hear someone else enjoys biggest loser:) I am thankful that January is over with..February is definetly closer to spring!!

  4. I’m thankful for friends like you who encourage us to actively notice the blessings we enjoy and give credit to our marvelous Provider.
    (I also had to use a wired mouse for awhile and was SO glad to lose that cord when my new wireless one arrived.).

  5. It is easy to be thankful for each day and today is one that has brought us the bright and shining sunshine! It also brings the hope of Spring…a peek at what is about to unfold. There are bulbs popping up through the dirt, and there are birds flying in to check out the feeder! It is a grand day!
    Thanks for your inspiration and gratitude!

  6. I’ve been reading an autobiography on Bonhoeffer, too. It is 600 pages long, and with the holidays, I took a break. I’m ready to dive back into it now. I am fascinated by his story and his theology.

    I’m also a big fan of the wireless mouse – even with my laptop. You are not alone.

  7. Love those family and friends. What a blessing. And cooking FOR someone is great fun for me, too. I so want to get into Downton Abbey…but I hate to jump in on the third season. I have this romantic notion of getting caught up to present, but now’s not the time to do that. Maybe this summer.

    Have a great week!

  8. Ellen, I wish I had a reason to read guides from Milan and Italy. How fun! Love your mosaic of food. Made me hungry just looking at all of that pretty food. I LOVE my wireless mouse. I just had to replace one. It took me 30 mins after realizing the old one was dead. I also use mine on my laptop. Great list of good things in life. laurie

  9. I loved reading about Bonhoeffer as well. I watched the first episode of Downtown Abbey and was greatly disappointed at the end, but I think the series is probably fairly good. Thank you for sharing your Fave Five! Enjoyed reading. I also love your header. Such a sweet family! Visiting from Simply God’s Girl.

  10. I love when the Biggest Loser shares some practical tips. I joined the Downton bandwagon late but then wanted to watch ti straight through because every time I looked at something related to it online, I ran into spoilers. It’s going to e hard to wait til next season now, though, for more episodes!

    I much prefer a mouse to the scroll pad, too.

    Amen to #2!

    I’ve not read anything about Bonhoeffer yet but I think I have a biography of him on my tablet.

  11. Ah, you are going to Italy, how nice ! I know it quiet well because Mr. G. is Italian he is from the Garda Lake region.
    I always need a mouse, can’t work without it (maybe because I love cats ?-

  12. Today I’m thankful to be home after a week away. There really is No Place Like Home!
    A trip to Italy – what a pleasure the planning and traveling will be. I look forward to learning more.

  13. Love your list. Family, friends, food. The three best “F’s” of life.

    If I carry your suitcase can I come along on your trip to Milan? How fun is the prep and the reading of all the great things you can do while there?!

  14. Amen to all of those things! I was just reading a book in which the author outlines the many choices and opportunities we have, and asks how we can dare say we’re bored!

  15. Friends and family are a great blessing! I love your header with the fam.
    What’s the name of the Bonhoeffer book? I’d like to read it this summer.
    Preparation and anticipation are at least half of the fun of a trip.

    • Hope you can remember this title…it’s called Bonhoeffer! :) The full name of the book is Bonhoeffer Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas. It’ really is a good book to read.

  16. I love to cook as well and love to share good meals with family. I have to say I agree with all of your 5, the wireless mouse and the good TV shows. Its so wonderful to concentrate on the positive!

Leave a Reply

