To the Island!

We have several islands to enjoy in our area. One of our favorites is Whidbey Island. On Saturday we caught a ferry in Mukilteo that took us to Clinton at the south end of Whidbey Island. We drove up to the ferry line and were happy to make the ferry that was already loading. We were the last car on…

It was a blustery day. We braved the outdoor deck for long enough to take a photo. This is my cousin Jim, his wife Jeanie, and our daughter Katie.

Our first stop was up the island in Coupeville. Coupeville is located on Penn Cove. Penn Cove is known for mussels. This coming up weekend is Penn Cove Mussel Fest. Coupeville is the 2nd oldest town in the state of Washington. We ate at the Front St. Grill. They had a page full of mussel offerings to enjoy. We chose the Coconut Green Curry Mussels. Delicious!

We walked along the Front St. and enjoyed perusing the shops.

We hopped back in the car and returned to the southern end of the island to visit our favorite town of Langley. This is our traditional photo spot on 1st. St. in Langley. Saratoga Passage is behind us. We spotted a whale in this Passage last year. Saratoga Passage lies in Puget Sound between Whidbey Island and Camano Island.

After walking through our favorite shops we headed back to the ferry dock. When the ferry rolled in I saw these two seagulls perched on the lights above the pilot house. It made me chuckle that they chose the first class perches to roll into the dock.

We were quite pleased that the weather was nicer than what we expected for Jim and Jeanie’s visit and for our adventures. Last night we had a farewell meal together with our company plus my sister, her husband, our son Josh, our SIL Laura and Katie. Hope your week is going well…

14 thoughts on “To the Island!

  1. Looks like a terrific day, but then I’m learning that you and your family are all about making the days terrific. Interesting sculptures I noticed. I think my favorite was the man beside you enjoying the scene.

  2. Whidbey Island is a great place to explore. Your photos brought back good memories of exploring Coupeville and Langley a few years ago. And we always make a stop at Greenbanks Winery too – delicious pie! Looks like you all had a good time.

  3. What a lovely day trip you all had!! The mussels – oh my goodness they look delicious!!! Whidbey Island looks like a most wonderful place to visit! I want to come too and “tour” with you!!!!

  4. That “dog at the hydrant” in front of the visitors center….SO funny!!!!!!!!! I would love to have something like that! The photos looking out onto the water make me think of movies. So pretty! I’m glad you and the family enjoyed your time with your guests and your time on the island. I have never been on a ferry. That would be quite an experience!!!

  5. Nice to see a little Island life on the other coast! The buildings remind me a bit of Newfoundland – another island province here in Canada. The mussels look yummy too!

  6. Love the pic in your header!
    Looks like a fun day.
    I thought you were coming to MY ISland when I saw your post title in my sidebar, LOL
    Thanks for your kind words and prayers for my sister and her family. They are struggling, may God bring them His comfort.

  7. We’ve been through Coupeville several times on motorcycle trips but I’ve never had enought time to look through the shops. It’s on my list for the next visit.

Leave a Reply

