Ditt enn Daut…

This and that from the rest of our time in Manitoba…and of course food is involved. These events are not in any particular order.

IMGP0293

This was the Retreat Center that we stayed in during our time in Manitoba. Our last morning there we took our coffee out on the wrap around porch.

Winnepeg-001

Betty is keeping an eye on me as I trek through the tall grass and weeds over to the church next door to take a stroll through their cemetery.  She was hoping I wouldn’t end up with ticks on my legs. Yikes!

IMGP0307

Here I go…

Winnepeg9

Winnepeg8

When I got back from my trek I found most of the girls having their coffee on the porch while we waited to enjoy our breakfast. Or maybe this was after breakfast. Anyhoo I won’t say out loud on my blog what I said to make them laugh.

Winnepeg4

One thing for sure is that we did not go hungry on any day or for any meal!

Winnepeg7

We were able to make a quick stop at Betty’s home and have a little tour to see where she cooks. While we were there a storm blew through and Lovella was excited to get out into it. The reason she’s toting that hanging plant is a whole other story.

Winnepeg5

While in Betty’s community we stopped at Main Bread & Butter Co. so some of the girls could buy some famous Bothwell Squeaky Cheese. We were excited to see our book for sale on one of their displays.

Winnepeg3

Now we are all the way back to the beginning of our time in Manitoba and our first night at the Women Refreshed at the Well Retreat Center. We pretty much started with good food and ended with good food. After all…it was a cookbook signing tour.

IMGP0162

This was Charlotte’s Cake that she made for our dessert on our first evening.

IMGP0161

I’ll leave you with this great Bible Verse that Joy had on one of the walls in her Retreat Center. We are grateful to God for all he has done in each of our lives and the great times that we enjoy together.

IMGP0180

It’s been good to have a large chunk of this week without any plans or appointments. The next thing on the calendar is a bridal shower on Saturday for my nephew’s future bride. Those of us up here in the PNW are happy to be able to attend a family shower without having to fly. We will be flying to the wedding in August that will be in the Santa Barbara area.

I’m experimenting with a new way to make ribs in the oven and if the recipe turns out well I’ll be sharing it on the Mennonite Girls Can Cook website on the 4th of July. Time will tell since I’m cooking it low and slow…

8 thoughts on “Ditt enn Daut…

  1. Was it “#$#@% ticks!”? I wouldn’t be able to resist visiting the cemetery either. You’re a very good documenter! Lovely photo of Betty watching you go where angels fear to tread and who would imagine Lovella dancing like a wild thing in a storm? LOL!

  2. Ticks – don’t you hate them! When I was in Virginia in April I stepped into the woods to take pictures of the butterflies on the azaleas and had 2 on me after that! Looks like a lovely place to stay and the breakfast looks wonderful!

  3. All week I’ve been thinking similar thoughts…as i look through the photos. Each place was so special and being with people in their homes gives us a better picture of where they are in there life. Yes, the food kept us going…good food and none was wasted was it?

  4. Love your post, Ellen… made me wish I had been there with you !
    Your post title made me chuckle – stick with us long enough and ‘Low German’ will be added to your list of spoken languages! .

Leave a Reply

