Two Days Filled With Love…

Celebrating a new beautiful beginning and celebrating a lifelong time of loving and caring pretty much sums up our whirlwind trip to Southern California.

My heart is full and my heart is heavy…

MomAfter the beautiful wedding on Saturday we packed up and headed to my mom and pop’s apartment for a short visit before our flight home. We had a wonderful time around my mom’s hospital bed where she shared her favorite verses from the Bible with us with some added words of counsel. She was able to walk into the living area for a while to eat and watch the video of the wedding of grandson Caleb and sweet Marie that was recorded with my sister’s IPad during the wedding ceremony.  By this point she had to go back to her bed and rest. Dear, Josh, Laura, Katie and I said our goodbyes knowing this would be the last time we would see her alive.  Heavy…

Life…just like this post is always mixed with Joy and Sorrow…isn’t it?

Now that I am home I will be able to go through all the photos from the weekend and share with you in depth the beautiful wedding we were able to enjoy.  Here’s a little tease…

IMGP0831Before I go here is one of passages my mom shared with us when we were around her bed yesterday…

Jude 20, 21 (NASB)

20 But you, beloved, building yourselves up on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Spirit, 21 keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting anxiously for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to eternal life.

Jude 1:20 (The Message)

20-21 But you, dear friends, carefully build yourselves up in this most holy faith by praying in the Holy Spirit, staying right at the center of God’s love, keeping your arms open and outstretched, ready for the mercy of our Master, Jesus Christ. This is the unending life, the real life!

It was so good to walk into our home last night to the smell of new floors. I’m looking forward to catching up on what you have been up to here in bloggy land.

23 thoughts on “Two Days Filled With Love…

  1. Oh Ellen – however true it is that joy and sorrow march hand in hand, it is a fact that saying that last goodbye is one of life’s most difficult occasions. May you feel our Hugs and our prayers in the coming hours/days…..

    • Yes, that’s what she concentrated on in this verse, “beloved”, and the depth of it’s meaning in Russian. Did you talk about her favorite in Matthew, too?

  2. My heart is full for you — continuing to pray for you and your family. Talk about a bitter-sweet weekend. I love the verse your mother shared. I’ll tell you my favorite verse:

    May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13.

    God bless – xxx

  3. Your mom’s smile is just radiant and only that comes from peace that passes all understanding. Soon and very soon …we will all be together! It is amazing what makes me think about being reunited with my parents and the one who made it all possible.

  4. What a weekend and what a gift to have such a godly heritage. I would have been wanting to record her…all those years of growing with God…..WOW. Thankful you have a heart tender to God, may His comfort carry you through. God continues to bring you and yours to mind, so I whisper some prayers.

  5. What a blessing to have godly parents and what a heritage to pass on to the families. Thank you so much for sharing these times with us. Over the years as I have followed your blog I feel that I have come to know you and your family and extended family. my connection comes thru Bev who is my SIL. You and your family are in my prayers as you go thru this time of joy and sorrow.

  6. She is shining so bright it is amazing and totally inspiring! When we remember that this time is but a blink compared to Eternity, it puts a little perspective on things. Thank you for your good thoughts for Sam. Keeping you all tucked into my prayers.

  7. Ellen,

    I have been checking your blog throughout the day to see if you might have any updates on your Mom. Brought tears to my eyes reading about how she shared those verses with you… hugs and prayers to you!

    On a brighter note – that looks like a really pretty wedding gown!

  8. So glad you had another opportunity to spend some precious time with your mom. Isn’t it always that way…that joy and sorrow come hand in hand?

  9. The previous comments have said it all, to which I can only add my heart and prayers are with you and your family in the midst of the heaviness of sorrow and all the glorious joy. God is good. That version from The Message says it all so well doesn’t it. God bless you.

  10. Oh Ellen, God keep you and bless you as you experience this roller coaster ride of emotions! Such a hard goodbye that must have been. Your mom is so amazing! You are in my prayers!

  11. What a beautiful word to remember your mom by! Her encouragement to stay in the love of God is the best prayer she can leave behind for those who follow after her. May Gods’ grace and love continue to uphold your family.

  12. You are most certainly on a very up and down ride these days but one that is as full of love as it is anticipation of loss. Your mother is amazing and beautiful.

  13. Ellen, I am so happy you were able to spend time with your Mom around the happy occasion of your nephew’s wedding. I know your Mom is waiting for the Lord to call her name, but she looks so good — there is a light shining around her in her photos that is so beautiful. I know she will be carried up to heaven by a league of angels, as they surround her now! Wishing you peace.

  14. How bittersweet! Your mother, really both of your parents are such sentinels of faith for your family. I admire that, and hope one day it might be said of me. And I understand how it feels to watch the final months and weeks go by for someone you love so dearly. She is finishing strong and winning the race! She can say as Paul, ‘henceforth a crown is laid up for me…’ Blessings to you and your wonderful family.

Leave a Reply

