Birthday Finale…

From the Chihuly Garden and Glass exhibit we drove to Kirkland, Washington for our massage which was very nice and then we picked up food for our dinner that we brought in to enjoy at home.

2013-12-27 Katie's Day8I took the time the night before to set the table for nine since we’d be gone all day right up until our dinner company would arrive.

KT b-day dinner 001

I did not make dinner or the cake. Since we were going to be busy all day on our birthday adventures I knew it would be best to bring everything in.

KT b-day dinner 003

KT b-day dinner 004

KT b-day dinner 005Our nephew Caleb and his new wife Marie were able to join us since they were visiting with Marie’s family in Washington. Caleb and Marie live in Santa Barbara, California. It’s always a treat to be able to include cousins from California for our celebrations. After dinner there was a rip roaring game of Mexican Train before everyone headed home.

Do you have birthdays in your families close to Christmas? What have you done to make sure your loved ones aren’t overlooked because of the busyness of Christmas and the New Year? Do you have plans for New Year’s Eve? We are going to lay low and enjoy a quiet evening at home.

For those of you who won’t be online on New Year’s Day I wish you a very Happy 2014!

13 thoughts on “Birthday Finale…

  1. No December birthdays…a couple of January birthdays…makes it interesting. Looks as if this birthday was very thoughtfully and lovingly planned.

  2. That was a great birthday celebration in every way! You were so smart to set the table ahead and bring in the food – way less stress! Birthdays close to Christmas certainly are challenging and I hope to have a dinner out or bring one in with my family in a few days before the “kids” head back to Alberta. My birthday falls on the 3rd day of the New Year – eek!
    Happy New Year Ellen – I have SO appreciated getting to “know” you and hope that someday we can meet – you have challenged me in so many ways and I have appreciated how you celebrate life! Many blessings to you and yours in 2014.

  3. You obviously didn’t let Katie’s b’day get lost in the holidays. What a wonderful celebration. My sister-in-law was born on Christmas Eve. We always have a b’day cake and gifts (not wrapped in Christmas paper) for her on Christmas Eve. Happy New Year! laurie

  4. That is a beautiful cake and looks like such a nice change after Christmas cookies.
    My mom’s birthday is a week before Christmas and we have begun a tradition of taking her
    shopping for her gift and for lunch on her day.

  5. Beautiful…the table setting, the cake and the birthday girl! Hubby and I both have a sibling with a Christmas birthday…and our grandson is on New Year’s Eve (today). We try not to let them get lost in the other celebrations! Happy new Year to you and your family.

  6. I would have loved the Chihuly exhibit. Tonight we will be enjoying a casual dinner with 8 couples who are very long time friends. I am so grateful for those people with whom I have a shared history. I look forward to sharing more with you in the new year.

    • Hi Lulu,
      I’m having a problem loading your blog this afternoon. But I did some of your recap from 2013. Sorry for the early loss of your brother. Enjoy your dinner tonight and a very Happy New Year to you!

  7. I’ve been really encouraged and inspired how you have taken the time to celebrate Kate’s birthday. I have a few birthdays coming up this next month…and I will make sure that each one is special. Thank you for that wonderful prayer. It makes my life much easier.
    Blessings to you in the New Year, my friend!

Leave a Reply

