Fashion Flashbacks

img438

For my flashback post this week I’m going back to the late 60′s and early 70′s with Fashion Flashbacks.

img441The seventies, cords and suede boots. Could I find a larger Ichthus? The Maranatha and Jesus Movement was strong in Southern California. I am happy to have been a part of “the movement”.   This photo is from the Montgomery Ward parts department where I worked part-time while attending college.

img488Interesting use of rick rack on this long dress.

img482Christmas morning at Bethany Baptist Church in Los Angeles. About the shoes…

img477

img476

img473

img463

img460Pant suits became all the rage in the early 70′s.

img457Yikes! This striped sweater pant suit was an interesting statement.

img454Solvang, California

img449My first decent car that I bought through my credit union. Cars were a fashion statement, too.

Back to today…we enjoyed some nice weather this weekend and the sun is shining nicely right now. On Saturday Dear and I spent a few hours in the yard mowing and cleaning out some planters. It felt good to get the yard cleaned up. Tomorrow we are suppose to get up to the 60′s woohoo! On Tuesday we are back to a rainy pattern. How was your weekend?

20 thoughts on “Fashion Flashbacks

  1. Wonderful that you have so many of these 60s and 70s fashions. You sure had the figure to carry them off. I like that purple knit number. I remember really liking the looser pant leg. Your parents worked hard to keep you all so nicely dressed, though I am sure that you and your sisters bought (and shared???) a lot of your own clothes. Love the Volkswagen, too.

  2. Great fun pictures,. The long dress aka granny gown :) I see the record player did it have cassette or 8 track? I still remember my older siblings kiddy records they were yellow played on 78 speed, “How much is that doggy in the window” :)

  3. Your pics brought back a lot of memories…long dresses, long hair, pant suits…it could be be me in these pictures!! ha! ha! It’s been spring-like here, but the cold is coming back this week! (sigh)

  4. Deja Vue for me here ….. great pictures!!! Very cold temps, drifting snow and icy roads still persist here – can’t imagine mowing grass and Spring clean up yet! I’m sure it will come eventually – send some our way if you can….

  5. Such a fun fashion show, Ellen! I remember all of those looks! :)

    Spring made an appearance here in Maryland, but tonight there’s a fire in our wood stove. Fickle spring.

  6. What a fun look back! I remember wearing long dresses and pantsuits. Did you have white “go go” boots and “poor boy” sweaters? Hip hugger pants and macrame belts for your jeans? I also wore my hair the same way you did!

    Our daytime temps have been very mild but it still gets too cool at night to ahve much growing here. I did see some daffodils and birds are making a nest in my rolled up awning. That made me happy!

  7. I actually kind of miss the old pantsuits! Nobody told Hillary Clinton they’re totally 70s, but that’s OK. To each his/her own! :-) Pantsuits were so easy, though. They looked good, felt good on, could be dressed up or down with a few choice accessories (remember wearing the choker necklaces or those little scarves tied around our necks with them?), and many were of the wash-and-wear variety. A pretty good fashion value from where I sit!

    The peasant dresses are kind of back, aren’t they? And I think people like Gwyneth Paltrow and Reese Witherspoon made the long hair really popular again. As for the shoes….heaven help us! PLEASE don’t let those come back to haunt us again!!!! :-) :-) :-)

  8. I’ve enjoyed watching you post your scanned photos from the early 70′s. The styles of hair and fashion are so trending today again. I can totally identify with you. Unfortunately I have very few photos of my years from early years through till I was married. So I have really enjoyed your collection.

  9. You and I must be close to the same age. It was a fun stroll down memory lane seeing the fashions. I’m pretty sure a couple of my friends had dresses made in the same pattern as your photos, and the picture of you in Solvang, California, makes me think of a very similar pantsuit I once had in navy. I, too, wore my hair long and straight and parted in the middle. Fun times!

  10. These photos are priceless, they brought back so many wonderful memories for me, also the hair styles. I so enjoyed them, I think I might have some of the same packed away somewhere.
    I am glad you were able to work in your yard, we have been busy working outside too, but like you the weather is not going to be cooperating with us this week. Thanks for sharing.
    Sue

  11. Prairie dresses were SO in during the 70′s. I loved them, I think most guys were not quite as thrilled except when the so clad girls would skip through meadows barefoot and allow romantic scenes to unfold. Otherwise, they were almost as modest as a nun’s habit! Amazing we prairie dress wearers got any dates at all.
    I think we must have shopped at the exact same stores and sewn from the same patterns.

Leave a Reply

