The Little White Horse ~ Elizabeth Goudge

  “She stood still and looked up at them, and she found herself rejoicing in their beauty. After all, though pink was not her favourite colour, it was a colour and, as Sir Benjamin had said, all colour is of the sun, and good. And pink is the colour of dawn and sunset, the link between day and night. Sun and moon alike ought both to love pink, because when one is rising and the other setting they so often greet each other across an expanse of rosy sky.”

I just finished The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. I first read about this book at Island Sparrow’s blog. I am a big fan of books written for children. I’m including the quote above from the book and this recommendation of the story on the inside cover of the book.

“For imaginative readers…this tale will have a strong appeal. There are richness of detail and a lovely use of color and light-sunshine, moonlight, and shadows, symbolically contrasted-to catch the fancy, and a spiritual quality in this parable of greed and pride vanquished by innocence and goodwill.” ~ The New York Times

ht: photo, Bridget at Sunset, from Bridget’s blog used with permission 🙂 

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

5 thoughts on “The Little White Horse ~ Elizabeth Goudge

  1. What an interesting sounding book. Enjoyed visiting your blog again. And thank you for visiting mine and leaving a comment.
    Blessings from Costa Rica

    Welcome back Kathie, I enjoyed the descriptive language the author used throughout this book. Continued blessings on your ministry in Costa Rica!

  2. That is beautiful! I’ll have to borrow it from you! That picture is perfect for it, by the way 🙂

    Bridget, I thought the photo was perfect, too. Thanks for letting me steal it and please use the quote! I hear from Island Sparrow they are making this book into a movie called The Moon Princess.

  3. Elizabeth Goudge is my all-time favorite author, although I don’t believe I’ve ever read any of her books for children, odd! I discovered her when I was about 12, reading The Scent of Water. Other favorites are The Dean’s Watch, and A City of Bells. Since then, I’ve collected a shelf full of her novels that I read over and over. Her writing takes me to a beautiful place, a place where, to quote C.S. Lewis in Surprised by Joy, “all Joy reminds. It is never a possession, always a desire for something longer ago or further away or still ‘about to be.'”

    Beautifully said Sara, I’m hoping to get some of her adult fiction soon…Welcome back from your gallivanting!

Leave a comment