In Other Words Tuesday ~ Crown of Roses?

 Iris at Sting My Heart has chosen the following quote for “In Other Words Tuesday“.

 “They gave our Master a crown of thorns. Why do we hope for a crown of roses?”
~ Martin Luther ~

 

The New Testament does not paint a rosy picture for the Christian life on this Earth. Instead it assures us that if we follow Christ wholeheartedly we will face trials and persecutions. Because we are identified with Christ we will receive much of the same bad treatment and rejection He received.

II Timothy 3:12 ~  Indeed, all who desire to live a Godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.

I Peter 4:12 ~ Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed.

And here’s the one that I’ve been chewing on these last few days…

James 1:2-4 ~ Count it all joy my brothers when you meet trials of various kinds for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have it full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. 

The trials are inevitable. How will I react?  How should I behave in the midst of these trials? Will I choose joy trusting in Almighty God and His plans and purposes? I hope so. I want to experience steadfastness. I want to rejoice and be glad when Christ’s glory is revealed. I choose to trust that God will teach me in and during my trials to react and behave in a way that let’s steadfastness have its full effect bringing me homeward towards perfection and completeness, lacking nothing. I don’t want a crown of roses now, I want a crown of life when I get to heaven so I can cast it at Jesus’ feet…

To see more thoughts on this quote click on Sting My Heart.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

15 thoughts on “In Other Words Tuesday ~ Crown of Roses?

  1. Choosing joy is difficult. I’ve been chewing on that too because of a book I’m reading.

    I’ve had to consciously say, “I choose joy” when something happens because obviously that verse tells us it’s a choice.

    !Hard work.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I often think of Paul who was content in every situation…it would be easy to think that he must have had a good life if he could be that content. But in reading about his life we find he was persecuted, in prison, naked, hungry, shipwrecked, etc. Oh, that I could find contentment no matter what.

  3. Beautifully written…Yes, I too rather have to crown of life than a crown of roses. This side of heaven might be a ‘cake-walk’, but I know where my path leads.

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote.

    Be blessed today and always.

  4. Ellen—that was so encouraging. I love the verse from 1 Peter. People around us are watching our reactions to the “trials of life”. They need to see God in our “actions and reactions”. I long to be steadfast in following after my Savior.
    Thanks for sharing this uplifting post…and the roses….absolutely gorgeous!!

  5. “steadfastness have its full effect” This is something to truly cling to. Not steadfastness for a moment or even a season but for, in, and through to fullest effect! Amen!

  6. Something I tell myself often is this: “You can’t always control what happens to you, but you are in complete control of how you respond to it.”

    I pray that my response to trials brings glory to God. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Pingback: Sting My Heart » Blog Archive » There is a Reason

Leave a comment