TT #15 ~ Ben Franklin Resolutions

I nabbed this from my brother Steve’s blog The Temple

Ben Franklin Resolutions – The Virtue Chart.  Ben Franklin regularly followed a plan to develop his character. Based on Philippians 4, Ben used the chart below as a tool to improve himself. Check out the site Flamebright for a brief explanation and DIY Planner for templates you can print out. His “Plan” was made up of 13 virtues, each with short descriptions:

1. Temperance: Eat not to dullness and drink not to elevation.

2. Silence: Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself. Avoid trifling conversation.

3. Order: Let all your things have their places. Let each part of your business have its time.

4. Resolution: Resolve to perform what you ought. Perform without fail what you resolve.

5. Frugality: Make no expense but to do good to others or yourself: i.e. Waste nothing.

6. Industry: Lose no time. Be always employed in something useful. Cut off all unnecessary actions.

7. Sincerity: Use no hurtful deceit. Think innocently and justly; and, if you speak, speak accordingly.

8. Justice: Wrong none, by doing injuries or omitting the benefits that are your duty.

9. Moderation: Avoid extremes. Forebear resenting injuries so much as you think they deserve.

10. Cleanliness: Tolerate no uncleanness in body, clothes or habitation.

11. Chastity: Rarely use venery but for health or offspring; Never to dullness, weakness, or the injury of your own or another’s peace or reputation.

12. Tranquility: Be not disturbed at trifles, or at accidents common or unavoidable.

13. Humility: Imitate Jesus and Socrates.

For more TT click here.

HT: The Temple

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

32 thoughts on “TT #15 ~ Ben Franklin Resolutions

  1. Good ‘ol Ben…it is refreshing to know, he like so many of us made lots of resolutions he had no intention of keeping. Makes him more human I think! #9 is about my favorite. Moderation is key.

  2. I LOVED both lists, but I am a Franklin fan and have never seen this…it’s getting copied for my journal!!
    LOVED it!!
    very cool!!
    you Thankful list was a blessing as well!!
    I’m so happy to have visited!!
    peace!
    happy new year
    Lori

  3. I’m so happy to see so many inspiring blogs this week. I’m sick and all of these are making me smile despite the rest of my body being intent on a frown of one sort or another. lol

    Happy TT

    ~X

  4. ah we read the ben franklin autobiography in my college u.s. history course. he had good ideas…..he was just very very sure of how righ the was.

Leave a comment