J. Paul Getty Museum ~ Pacific Pallisades

As promised here are more of my photos from the Getty Villa during our Bloggy rendezvous on Monday.

 

 

 

The J. Paul Getty Museum at the Getty Villa is home to an extensive collection of Greek, Roman, and Etruscan antiquities, one of America’s finest holdings of ancient art.

 

J. Paul Getty purchased the sixty-four acre site in 1945. This is a photo taken in the Outer Peristyle.

In Greek and Roman architecture a peristyle is a columned porch or open colonnade in a building that surrounds a court that may contain an internal garden.

 

There are Bronze sculptures, replicas of statues found at the Villa dei Papiri.

 

 

These columns lead you out to the Outer Peristyle from the Inner Peristyle. The capitals of the Corinthian columns in the Triclinium on the south side of the Inner Peristyle were inspired by the curling acanthus plant.

 

A View into the Inner Peristyle.

 

 

 

This fountain is located in the East Garden. The colorful fountain with shells and theater masks is a replica of an ancient fountain from the House of the Large Fountain in Pompeii.

 

 

A sampling of some of the treasures…

 

I was in the Men in Antiquity Room and spied this statue in an opposite room divided by an open court. There were two windows between me and the statue. I was intrigued and put the camera on zoom and hoped it would turn out. I was pleased to see it did.

 

When I made it to the Women and Children of Anitquity this Herculaneum Woman and the other women statues in the room were off limits for photography.

 

Willow here’s my version of a Monet.. The colors in these lily pads are so beautiful.

 

Couldn’t leave without a close-up photo of one of the roses on the grounds. This Museum is worth a few trips to see all it has to offer. It is free but you have to make a reservation and request a free ticket for entrance to the estate.

Photobucket is holding all my photos from 2007-2015 hostage and they have blacked them all out. I’m slowly working at restoring my posts without their help. Such a tiresome bother!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

14 thoughts on “J. Paul Getty Museum ~ Pacific Pallisades

  1. The architecture is spectacular. That fountain is amazing. And how great that you got a picture of that sculpture through the windows.

    But your Monet shot is the bomb! I don’t think this is too far from here, so I am going to see about taking the kids up there soon.

  2. What an amazing place! Your photo through the windows is spectacular. How would you like your home to be called a villa!

    Thanks for sharing this interesting place.

  3. Wow! What a GORGEOUS place! I would love to go there sometime! Thanks for sharing your beautiful pictures…I loved them all! Love and miss you!

  4. Oh yeah, love the ‘Monet’!

    Great photos of the outer peristyle. I realized I only took 1 or 2 pictures there. I was just walking around gazing at everything and forgetting my camera was in my hand.

  5. Ellen, your photos are really wonderful and I like that you and Willow both included some pertinent facts about the Villa in your posts…

    I see we all photographed the lily pond from different angles!

    Your shot of the “forbidden” statue came out beautifully too.

    Great job.

    Sara

  6. Your pictures are gorgeous! I went to the Getty Villa a week ago and forgot my camera (which was actually quite freeing, in a way).
    I have a blog called “HistoryLosAngeles” on blogspot, with a feature called Mosaic Monday. Your picture of the mosaic fountain with the theater masks is the best I’ve seen. May I use it on my blog?

    Thanks!

    Vickey Kalambakal
    Vickey@Kalambakal.com

Leave a comment