Mad Hatter Tea Bridal Shower…

On Saturday I drove 90 miles from Camarillo to Newport Beach to attend a shower for our future niece, Jessica, who is marrying my brother Steve’s son Timothy. Timothy’s lovely mother is my SIL Kelly.

 

This is a fun photo of 3 of my brother Steve’s sons. (Joe is missing) Timothy is the one in the middle flanked by his brothers Caleb and Levi.

Oh the destination and the setting and the beautiful ladies that we got to spend the afternoon with made the 180 mile round-trip so worth it.

 

 

The table was set perfectly for our Mad Hatter Tea. We gave thanks to the Lord for this wonderful occasion and began the festivities.

 

 

Michelle, the maid of honor,  was our hostess and the setting was in her parents gated community in Newport Beach. I can’t even begin to guess what the HOA fees are in this wonderful setting. Did I just say that out loud?

 

It was a Mad Hatter Tea which meant we were all required to wear hats. My SIL Letty and me.  Jessica, the Guest of Honor. Jessica opening her Samovar from my mother and a tablecloth that my mother made when she was 12 years old (that would have been in Tehran, Iran) The last photo is of the daughters and daughter in laws with my mom. Letty, Vera, My Mom, Kathy, Ellen b, and Kelly.

 

Jessica with her friends and most of these ladies will be her bridesmaids. Our hostess, Michelle, to the left of Jessica.

 

After we had our Tea/Lunch we walked over to the Rose Garden in the Community.

Some of my lovely nieces, Melissa, Debbee, and Michelle.

Ellen b. in a hat! You won’t see that everyday.

Well that hat won me a prize along with the great hat on the right that the mother of the hostess wore! I won a wonderful lavender scented candle.

 

We are having a very hot weekend in Southern California. See that 100 degrees for the outside temperature next to my odometer. That registered when I was driving home and reached the San Fernando Valley. Hot, hot, hot for Spring around here! (Looks like I need to dust off my dash!)

Made it home in good time praising our God for the blessing of family and friends to enjoy life with on this earth.

“May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”
~2 Thessalonians 2: 16,17

Photobucket is holding all my photos from 2007-2015 hostage and they have blacked them all out. I’m slowly working at restoring my posts without their help. Such a tiresome bother!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

21 thoughts on “Mad Hatter Tea Bridal Shower…

  1. Cute theme for a bridal show. I don’t think I have ever seen hats on those three nieces of yours……you all look very nice 🙂 Gorgeous location!!!!

  2. Yesterday was a great day for Newport Beach. And what a gorgeous setting you were enjoying there! Love the hat, you look quite chic with gloves and pearls too!

    It’s 95 right now out on my shaded patio – yikes!

  3. What a fun occasion! Where did you find that great hat Ellen?
    Jeanie B

    Hi Jeanie, My hat is from the Parfionev sisters that attended Bethany Baptist. My parents had to dispose of their household goods when they died and I nabbed the hats. I added the feather to the hat before the shower. I don’t think I ever saw those two sisters without a hat on 🙂

  4. I think I will add a comment so I follow my little sista Jeanie B. Oh my goodness, what a wonderful setting for a shower! I loved your photos, I think they captured the scene. I appreciate the temperature photo! Your heat wave is reaching north but I don’t think we made 90 today. A week ago now it was 59 here.

    Oh I see the new feature, “possibly related posts”. I guess I need to post to see it on my blog!

  5. Ellen!!!

    That’s such a beautiful setting for a shower! I don’t think I have ever seen a more elaborate setting for a bridal shower. The ones I have been too are mostly at church or a homes. The shower you went to sounds so much fun!!!

    I love that samovar too. I have always wanted one, but haven’t gotten one till this day.

    And… your hat! SIMPLY LOVELY! I always tell hubby I would love to wear hats to church, but since our church is quite informal as far as dress codes, I haven’t worn one because I didn’t want to draw attention to myself.

  6. Hey Ellen,

    Driving and taking photos…do you have a hands/eyes free camera? Or did you actually take that while driving the speed limit???

    Steve, I had one hand on the wheel. But look I was going like 8 miles under the speed limit at that point.

  7. That looks like such a fun time! I love the hats and yours was grand. It deserved a prize.

    It was hot yesterday. Too hot for April, if you ask me!

  8. Wow! What an incredible celebration! I really enjoyed getting to see all of your pictures. What beautiful women! Way to go on winning a prize for your hat…you looked great!!

  9. MOM, YOU LOOK SO STINKING CUTE! So does everyone else of course, but I can’t get over you in the hat and that adorable dress and pearls. 🙂

  10. Ummm, darling. you were driving almost 50 mph and taking a picture of the DASHBOARD at the same time????

    shame shame on you.

    great party pics and what a lovely idea! I may just steal it!!

Leave a comment