Metamorphosis Monday & Blue Monday!

    AND

Time for another Metamorphosis Monday hosted by Susan at Between Naps on the Porch and since my metamorphosis happens in my blue kitchen with some of my blue goodies showing, this is also Blue Monday hosted by Smiling Sally! What amazing transformations blogdom showed us last Monday. Yikes! If you didn’t get a chance you should take a look.

 

Today I’m showing you my condo pantry cupboard which Dear improved on. The 2 shelves were held up with wimpy plastic braces and were beginning to warp and lean because of the weight on them. Like a ditz I forgot to take a photo before I pulled every last item out of the cupboard and filled every available flat surface in my kitchen with the stuff!

 

My pantry cupboard is accessed through that skinny door and this shows the shelves out of it. The location of the cupboard makes it quite an interesting process to access the items we end up putting around the corner in the cupboard that you can’t see. I hope that makes sense. The door is narrow but there is additional space to the right of the door that you cannot see…

Here’s Dear being a contortionist so he could attach the cleat on the wall to support the shelves properly.

Dear really enjoys projects and using his power tools. He always does a fabulous job, too.

Cleats are in and it’s time for the shelves with one more than I had before! Yippee for more storage space.

Voila! Now I just have to put all the stuff back in a more organized way.

Oh it is so much nicer to have everything put away instead of all over the kitchen counters!

Besides the blue walls I spotted well over 20 blue items in my kitchen while all was exposed for the world to see.

 

Usually the electric water pot is put away, too, but I needed a cup of Earl Grey to enjoy the moment…

 

For more Metamorphosis visit Susan here and for more Blue Monday visit Sally here.

Photobucket is holding all my photos I stored with them from 2007-2015 hostage unless I pay them a lot of money. I’m slowly cleaning up many posts from this time period and deleting their ugly grey and black boxes with a ransom request. Such a time consuming bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

55 thoughts on “Metamorphosis Monday & Blue Monday!

  1. Hi Ellen,
    Oh my…my pantry shelves wouldn’t last a day on plastic! What a wonderful husband to fix the shelf supports for you…

    ad I enjoyed playing “I spy something blue” in your kitchen… I am not sure I found 20…but I found many!

    Have a great Monday!

  2. I had to laugh when I saw you did a pantry post. Me too. I also have a deep cupboard and it’s sometimes had to see whats in the back. I love the light in your kitchen. Under the cabinets and above them too.
    How did those plastic things support the shelves?
    Nicely done, dear!

  3. Hi Ellen…I soooo badly need to do this in a closet off my kitchen. It has no shelves and is really a coat closet. So that’s what you call those little things…cleats…I now know what I need! 🙂 I love using power tools, too…so I know your DH was thrilled to have a reason to pull them out. And you got an extra shelf…how cool is that! Thanks for sharing on this MM…now I really want to do my closet! Susan

  4. What a good looking handy man to have around, but the best is MORE STORAGE SPACE IN THE KITCHEN! The most wonderful thing that can happen to a woman. laurie

  5. What a nice organized pantry you have. I can’t believe anyone expected those plastic clips to support shelves for long, your Dear did a wonderful job. And I love that teakettle, it’s beautiful. Kathy

  6. I would have to put a sign up inside…”remember to feel around the corner…more food in hiding”….that is CRAZY. I’m impressed that he could contort himself into that unique space.

  7. Hi Ellen! Oh, I love how your cabinet turned out and Dear did such a great job! Pat him on the back. Or better yet, give him a big ole fat sloppy kiss!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

  8. Can I borrow your Dear to come over and revamp my pantry? Boy does it ever need it. I think mine is even smaller than yours. BTW, I would NEVER show my before right now. 🙂 I am envious of your organized pantry. Enjoy! Blessings, Barb

  9. Ellen, you did a marvelous job transforming the pantry, and I believe I will help myself to a spot of tea from that pretty pot! Or maybe I should just help my little ole magpie self to the teaset! It’s a mighty “shiny object” there, Ellen! 🙂

    Happy Blue Monday…

    XO,

    Sheila

  10. WHO DESIGNED THAT THING?? what a pain in the rump!!

    I hate having space that I cannot see when the door’s open.

    is the condo yours or did you just doyour landlord a huge favor?

  11. Girl, you married well! He’s smart, smiling, and handy. What more could any of us want? Your kitchen is so much better off now that this job is complete. I loved see all the pretty blue spots. Thanks for sharing. Happy Blue Monday.

  12. This is what I will be doing today..you did a great job..I hope I am brave enough to post the pic’s of everything out of the pantry. Great job!

  13. Hi Ellen, we should be celebrating for a great dh job well done. I can hardly get my guy to do a project. Sometimes he does surprise me. After 44 years i consider him a keeper. Actually he always has been a keeper. Big smile. Your neat kitchen sure looks great. Lots of blue in there too. Have a cup of Earl Grey and relax.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  14. Hi ellen
    Oh what a fabulous closet you have now for your kitchen goodies. That was just the perfect spot for perfect shelving. What a great job the Dear did also!
    I also love your blue teapot. VERY pretty.
    Your kitchen is just lovely too.
    have a great day
    Judi

  15. Got to love a man with power tools..looks just great and I spoted that blue and white tea pot on the frig..thanks for sharing..hugs and smiles Gl♥ria

  16. Hi Ellen, You and I were on the same wavelength combining two posts in one! 🙂 What a great transformation on the pantry! Your husband did a wonderful job and I LOVE the color blue of your walls! Very pretty! Your blue transferware pieces are pretty, too! 🙂 ~hugs, Rhonda

  17. Hi Helen… great post! I love that you put everything all over your counters… wow! you got all that stuff out, and then back into that pantry! You are truly an amazing woman!

    My Ricky is one of those handy hubbies that loves his tools too! What in the world would we do without them? What a great job your hubby did!

    Your kitchen looks so bright and airy! put the teapot on I’m comin’ over!

    hugs & blessings, Dixie

  18. Hey ellen b, thanks for stopping by and leaving such nice comments. It’s great to see someone else’s belongings spread out all over the kitchen, just like mine :o)

    It’s been a while since I visited your blog, so I did some catch-up reading, and was reminded once again how much we have in common. We left L.A. 23 years ago, and have been trying to leave Bakersfield for the Pacific Northwest for the past 5 years. Thought we’d make the move for sure this year, but my father in law passed away on Halloween so we’ve pushed the move into mid-to-late 2010, to stay close to my MIL for another year. Meanwhile, we spread several vacation weeks each year between Portland, Vancouver/Camas/Washougal WA, Seattle, and Vancouver BC.

    Pismo used to be my every weekend retreat, and it’s been the site of many family vacations over the past 20 years. We ususally stay at the Sea Crest, next to Marie Callender’s, and it’s a nice walk to the pier on the beach (down more than 100 stairs, whew!). Splash definitely has the best chowder, and we love Mo’s as well, though I’ve banned the eating of Mo’s garlic fries by anyone sharing my hotel room. When the Sea Crest was my second home, they stored a computer printer and folding table for me, and would have them in my room when I arrived on Friday afternoons, so I could spend the weekend writing and working on my KinderKorner website. When I stopped teaching school, I rented a house here in Bakersfield to use for my freelance writing and other part-time endeavors, so Pismo trips are far less frequent than they once were. I enjoyed seeing your photos, and recalling how sunny and beautiful the central coast is during the gloomy months here in the valley.

    Have a wonderful and blessed week!

    Victoria

  19. Hi Ellen – what a pretty kitchen, with all that blue and white china too! Your new shelves look fantastic, and isn’t it a great feeling to have things stowed away in an organized manner….

    Dear makes a great contortionist, and he was obviously very successful.

Leave a comment