Outdoor Wednesday ~ Walks and Birds!

Susan at A Southern Day Dreamer started Outdoor Wednesday where you can post any outdoor photos you’d like to share.

My outdoor photos this week were taken Saturday at the beach and Tuesday on a walk with my bloggy friend Willow.

 

These little Sanderlings are so much fun to watch because they move really quickly all together.

 

On Saturday it seemed like the SeaGulls wanted to fly right at my camera.

 

 

We have seen lots of Pelicans flying just above the water on our walks. This is the first one we’ve seen just resting on the sand.

It’s been raining in Southern California for a few days now so on our walk today Willow and I saw this waterfall that we generally do not see during most of our dry days here.

 

Quail are the State Bird for California and we saw a nice little group of them. Such a great looking bird.

Usually these little birds flit about so much I can’t get a photo but this group decided to sit still long enough for me to click away.

More evidence of our rain here. This little run-off creek is generally bone dry on our walks but today it was babbling quite nicely for us!

For more Oudoor Wednesday visit Susan here.

Photobucket is holding all my photos I stored with them from 2007-2015 hostage unless I pay them a lot of money. I’m slowly cleaning up many posts from this time period and deleting their ugly grey and black boxes with a ransom request. Such a time consuming bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

22 thoughts on “Outdoor Wednesday ~ Walks and Birds!

  1. Thanks for taking us on the walk with you, Ellen. It was just lovely. And those quail were increcible. I was expecting the shorebirds which I loved, but not the others! I have a collection of shorebird carvings that are near and dear to my heart.

    Thanks for sharing…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  2. I always remembered the Sanderlings for some reason I thought they were called Sandpipers We would vacation in Sarasota Fla. They are so funny to watch. My kids loved chasing them..oh that seems so long ago.
    Beautiful outdoor Wed. photos.
    Love Claudie

  3. Hi Ellen, your beaches and birds photos are outstanding. We haven’t lived near a beach for a long time. What great memories this brings back to me.
    Your shots are wonderful. Thanks for sharing the outdoors in your neck of the ‘beaches.’

    Hugs…Jeanne

  4. EllenB,
    I love to watch birds…they are hare to capture them of photos…..Beautiful photos….That’s a good sign of not being so dry as you all usually have…It’s raining here in Mississippi too! Have a wonderful day..katherinellen

  5. I enjoyed your walk and the beach looks heavenly! Your quail there looks fat like our quail. We enjoy the ones who took up nesting in our yard. They are so funny to watch! I did not know they were the state bird of California:)

    Beth ♥

Leave a comment