Outdoor Wednesday ~ Castlerigg Stones in Britain

 

Castlerigg is one of the most beautiful stone circles in Britain, set in a splendid position, in an open field crowned by the Lake District’s mountains, 213m (700ft) above sea level. It is thought to be one of the earliest circles in Britain, and it dates from around 3000 BC.
Thirty-eight stones are placed in an slightly oval shape of 30m (100ft) in diameter; a further 10 small stones are arranged as a rectangular enclosure on the south-east side of the ring: this is a feature unique to Castlerigg, nothing similar being present in other stone circles. The largest stone of the circle, not far from the enclosure, is 2.5m (8ft 3in) high and it weighs about 16 tons: most of the others, much smaller, are 1 to 1.5m (3-5ft) high. At the north of the ring is an entrance marked by two slightly bigger stones, and about 90m (295ft) to the south-west, by a stile at the edge of the field, is a single outlying stone, 0.9m (3ft) high.

We were in this part of England and at this sight in May of 2006. The Lake District was a beautiful place to walk. I’m really itching to get back to Great Britain now that I’ve learned a few things through blogging about taking photographs :0)

To see more Outdoor Wednesday posts visit Susan at A Southern Daydreamer.

Photobucket is holding all my photos I stored with them from 2007-2015 hostage unless I pay them a lot of money. I’m slowly cleaning up many posts from this time period and deleting their ugly grey and black boxes with a ransom request. Such a time consuming bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

27 thoughts on “Outdoor Wednesday ~ Castlerigg Stones in Britain

  1. What an interesting place! I haven’t heard of this particular spot. A 16 ton stone? This brings all kinds of questions to my mind.

    Thanks for sharing Englands outdoors.

  2. Wonderful Outdoor Wednesday post.

    I think you might enjoy reading Circle of the Year. I don’t recall the link. It can be found on my blog list on the sidebar. The author is a woman, known as Rowan. She writes the most amazing posts about the vicinity of England where she resides. Beautiful photos and delightful, informative posts.

  3. How intrguing this is, Ellen! I’d love to visit England again, too. It’s a wonderful country! Thanks for sharing this picture. As usual, your work is wonderful!

    Happy OW!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  4. I will need to add Castlerigg to my “Bucket List.” What a peaceful setting! Enjoyed your description of the thirty-eight stones and the picture posted for OUTDOOR WEDNESDAY.
    Joyce

  5. What a beautiful photo! I didn’t realize stone circles were that far north. I’ve seen Stonehenge and Avebury but I thought they were all contained in that area. Amazing! Did you visit Beatrix Potter’s farm?

    All the best, Lana

  6. I didn’t realize the stone circles were that far north. I’ve seen others in the general vicinity of Stonehenge, such as at Avebury. While you were in the Lake District did you see Beatrix Potter’s farm? That’s on my “to do” list.

  7. So pretty and lush! I hadn’t heard of Castlerigg before and enjoyed all your wonderful information! You really do wander around our beautiful world:)

  8. Those stones are so fascinating. I would love to visit Great Britian too. The grass is so beautiful and green. what a peaceful place to pondr what it was like back in the time those stones had a purpose.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  9. Hi Ellen B.,
    Those Brit’s come up with the most interesting things. Do you know if there’s any history about its use? I would love to go to Britain too! Especially the Lake District.
    I hope your having a wonderful day!
    xoxo Cori G.

Leave a comment