Birthday Dinner at the Tam O’Shanter in Los Angeles

First off I’d like to thank you all for your sweet comments and prayers for me on my birthday. It really meant a lot for me to read them. God used them to encourage me and to bless me. I cherish my bloggy friends, those I’ve never met and those of you I have had the privilege of meeting and spending time with.

For dinner on my birthday we drove into Los Angeles just East of Griffith Park on Los Feliz to the Tam O’Shanter Restaurant, an Icon in Los Angeles. The Tam O’Shanter has been serving good food with great service since 1922. The restaurant has a Scottish influence with Robert Burns donning the walls and waitresses wearing plaid with a Tam O’Shanter on their heads.

 

This restaurant does traditional very well. Their quality and service have not degenerated over the years. We were very pleased with the food and service.

 

We both decided to go with the food that made the restaurant famous their prime rib, mashed potatoes, gravy, Yorkshire pudding, creamed corn and creamed spinach! We enjoyed the fresh and creamed horse radish, too.

 

We were treated to the Tam O’Shanter’s famous Chocolate Souffle for our dessert and the manager sent along a little pitcher of hot fudge sauce that was such a treat for us because it was from the famous C.C. Brown’s of Hollywood that Dear and I used to drive miles to just to enjoy their hot fudge sundaes. They were located on Hollywood Blvd. just down from Grauman’s Chinese Theatre. What a fun memory. C.C. Brown’s has closed its doors but the Lawrey’s chain that owns the Tam O’Shanter bought the rights to the Hot Fudge. We split the lovely souffle in two and loaded it with the whip cream and hot fudge sauce! Oh my was that a lovely end to a wonderful meal.

 

C.C. Brown’s began in 1906 in downtown Los Angeles where Clarence Clifton Brown invented the Hot Fudge Sauce. In 1929 he moved the business to Hollywood, where it existed in its original form until the summer of 1996. C.C. Brown’s moved to its long-term location at 7007 Hollywood Boulevard at a time when two major landmarks –Grauman’s Chinese Theatre and the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel — had not long been built.

 

Here we are at the restaurant ready to dig into our amazing souffle! See the lovely flowers? Willow dropped these off to my condo before we left for the restaurant. Clever girl she bought 5 deep pink and 8 light pink Gerbera Daisies to celebrate my 58 years. Thank you Willow.

On the way home from our wonderful time at the restaurant we talked about God’s love and how we, because of His love, offer our love to each other and to all the people God puts in our path. We are called to love. Can we really love too much??? I don’t think so. I pray that I’ll be able to increase in my love for others this new year…

Photobucket is holding all my photos I stored with them from 2007-2015 hostage unless I pay them a lot of money. I’m slowly cleaning up many posts from this time period and deleting their ugly grey and black boxes with a ransom request. Such a time consuming bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

16 thoughts on “Birthday Dinner at the Tam O’Shanter in Los Angeles

  1. How wonderful…never eaten at Tam’s but I do remember Brown’s from one of our trips when I was in grade school. I probably didn’t have a hot fudge sundae….wasn’t really into chocolate back then. Now a chocolate souffle sounds wonderful…melt in your mouth good. Hope you have a grand week.

  2. Ooohhhh! It looks like it was sooo wonderful!!! I need to have hubby take me there even if it’s just for the hot fudge!!!

    Sweet Willow to leave you such pretty Gerberas.
    I hope you two have fun taking tea this afternoon!

    I have the day off and am making my annual pilgrimage to Roger’s Gardens for all the lovely Easter decor.

    Safe travels! Now I’ll pop over and wish Willow a H.B.D.!

    🙂 Cori G.

  3. Now I am caught up on all your posts to here. Sounds like you had a wonderful Birthday meal. It all looks so yummy! Love the picture of the two of you. Have a great week!!

  4. I’m SURE I have Scottish blood. I drooled over that dinner. And of course hot fudge is international is flavor! Did you feel like you had been transported 10,000 miles right to Glasgow?

  5. May your love be increased and may that be an inspiration to others. .
    I drooled a wee bit over your souffle. . it looks like you had a wonderful birthday my friend. . . and so you should have.

  6. Looks like you had a lovely birthday dinner with Dear! And sweet flowers from Willow.

    I’m listening to Hosanna right now (Hillsong) and the words in the bridge are ” Show me how to love like You have loved me” a beautiful song and my prayer for us both.

    xo
    k

  7. I felt like I was with you as I read your description and peered at the pics. Except that I didn’t taste that chocolate souffle or hot fudge. Thanks for the peek into the wonderful conversation on the way home too. Isn’t it awesome to know God will increase your love for others, simply because you asked and it is his desire for us too.

  8. Belated Happy Birthday Ellen. It looks like you had a lovely evening and a marvelous meal.
    Do you ever make chocolate souffle? I’ve never had it but it looks terrific.

  9. What a happy post…then your last paragraph gave me….I don’t know, maybe goosebumps. How beautifully you expressed LOVE…a true tear in the eye and lump in the throat. May OUR God Bless you and Dear richly!
    luv you without knowing you..mL

  10. Must tell my mother-in-law about the Tam! She’s a “Glasgow Girl” and would absolutely feel at home there. If ever she and my father-in-law visit CA again this will definitely be a stopping place. Thanks for sharing its charms, and your lovely time there. Hugs, Sharon

  11. Ellen, Happy Belated Birthday! I have 4 1/2 months and I will join you in the 58th year of our lives! Looks like you and hubby had a wonderful meal; and what an awesome birthday gift you received! Your trip down to Santa Monica for tea sounds like a blast! You are so lucky to llive so close to the ocean and the gorgeous views you have.

    Happy Belated 58th Birthday!

Leave a comment