Foodie Friday ~ Artichoke

Spring Fling is the Foodie Friday Theme this week. Everyone at my house loves artichokes and for Foodie Friday I’m going to share the fast easy way we choose to enjoy this Springy looking vegetable! Gollum at Designs by Gollum is the hostess of this weekly Blog Food Event.

 

First find nice firm artichokes. Cut the stem off so you have a flat base. Cut the top say up to 1/2 to 1 inch straight across. Snip each leaf at the top to get rid of the sharp prickly part. Rinse really well and lay upside down with some of the liquid in a microwavable dish. Cover the dish and microwave on high for approx. 5 minutes for one. I did these for 10 minutes for the two and they were perfect.

 

Put the artichoke on any plate (be careful it will be very hot) Aren’t these artichoke plates Springy looking that I got from Goodwill for cheap?!  Next choose your dip of choice. Dear likes mayonnaise, I like Ranch Dressing, the rest of my family likes Italian dressing. Put a little  on the plate in the nifty section made just for it. Peel off one leaf at a time and dip the end that was most connected then scrap off the goodness with your teeth. (I love that soft focus you can fix photos with cuz now you can’t see all my wrinkles on this close up of me with the leaf) As you get farther into the center the leaves are more delicate and you can scrap off more goodness to eat, or even eat the whole leaf except for there always seems to be a little prickly part you need to avoid. Now here’s why they call it a Artichoke (maybe)…

 

See that fuzzy feathery part of the choke. This is the part you need to discard because you will probably choke on it. We use a spoon to scrape off all the fuzziness to get to the very best part the heart of the artichoke, you’ll need to apply a little pressure to remove the fuzzies from the heart but be careful not to scrape away the heart. After scrapping off the fuzz, sometimes I even rinse this part off to make sure I got rid of all the fuzzies, yep I’m a little paranoid that way. Now you can eat the heart and it’s solid artichoke yumminess. Make sure you add a little more dip if you got low in the eating process at this point :0)  This is a fun appetizer that we always enjoy at our house!

Now to see more Foodie Posts visit Gollum at Designs by Gollum!

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

22 thoughts on “Foodie Friday ~ Artichoke

  1. I luv to eat artichokes in things, but they are waaay too fussy for me to fix…haven’t done that since I was engaged to be married…maaaany years ago!

  2. I love artichokes, but have always been a little intimidated–especially since I put the leaves down the garbage disposal as a young bride—NOT a GOOD THING 🙂 You give me inspiration-I’ll try again!

  3. Happy Foodie Friday to The Happy Wanderer

    This is my first Foodie Friday and thank you for sharing your recipe for artichokes, very much a Spring Fling thing!

    The Raggedy Girl–Roberta Anne

  4. Would you believe in all my 49 years I have never had an artichoke? You pictures look really yummy, so I am going to have to try this. Thanks for sharing! Amy 🙂

  5. I have Amyg beat because I am older then her and never had these either. My Mom use to make them all the time but I never had one bite. Perhaps now is the time for me to step outside of my box and try them. Sounds easy enough and they look so colorful on your plates.
    Joyce

  6. I have never cooked my own artichoke. I’ll have to get the courage one of these days.

    Call me crazy but did I see this very same post on a cooking blog? Do you have a cooking blog out there?

  7. What a great post – I love your step by step instructions! HAve never worked with an artichoke before – was a little intimidating for me..you may have cured me of that! Thanks…

  8. I’ve never prepared an artichoke, but I love the dip from TGIFriday’s. Thanks for the step by step I think I can actually do this. ~ Robyn

  9. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! Please forgive me for not commenting sooner, as everyday life sometimes gets in the way. What a great post and tutorial on artichokes. I will print this out for future reference.

Leave a comment