Outdoor Wednesday ~ May

For my outdoor photos this week I took a little trip to Pt. Mugu to practice with my new camera. I was hoping for some good crashing wave action to test out my quick clicking feature. (that’s not the technical term but I’m just not savvy enough to know what that function is really called)

 

The beach was lovely as usual. I walked above a rock outcrop to see how the waves were crashing…

 

It really was fun to be able to click away with no pauses in between!

 

This was the best splash during my time here.

 

While waiting for more crashing waves I captured these pelicans coasting by…

 

In my neck of the woods and all along the road to get to Pt. Mugu there are farmlands. On my way home I stopped at the side of the road to get a shot of this pretty sight. I also passed rows of Strawberries and Artichokes.

Later in the day when Willow and I were walking we saw these lizards enjoying the sunshine. “Here lizard, lizard, lizard”… (does anyone remember that taco bell commercial with the talking chihuahua??)

Happy Outdoor Wednesday everyone and thank you Susan for being such a great hostess. Click over to A Southern DayDreamer to see more of the outdoors around the world…

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

43 thoughts on “Outdoor Wednesday ~ May

  1. Happy Outdoor Wednesday Ellen! Gorgeous photos with your new camera… I love the ocean…Thanks for sharing your photos.~ Susan

  2. You got some great shots there!! What fun. So you got a new camera too? I got one a week ago Sunday. I don’t remember if you commented on that Three or More Post or not. I have to go back a look. Anyway, I had to go and look at the manual just now to see if I have that feature on my new camera and I do. They call it “Continuous Shooting”. I guess that would be the technical term for it. LOL! Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

  3. beautiful pictures ellen.. i especially love the blue-green of the ocean. you know these particular shots made me homesick for maine… we would spend our summers there on a little island when i was growing up. there is truly nothing like the ocean…ā™„

  4. Hi Ellen,
    I really like your new camera, great photos, all of them and the colors beautiful. Thank you for sharing,
    Sue

  5. Fantastic photos! You’ll have to email me the type of Cam. you got…I’ve been looking for one. Have a great Wednesday šŸ™‚

  6. These photos are amazing. They look like something you would see in National Geographic. You should submit them. You are a great photographer. Thanks for sharing these.

  7. my daughter would enjoy the lizard pictures, everytime we are out anyplace she always winds up snatchign the camera to take pictures of lizards!!! I like the pelicans! and the waves, I can almost hear them.
    came by via southern dreamer

  8. What beautiful photos you captured. I love the sea spray! And the pelicans. The lizards are really cute, I do remember that commercial. Now I’m going to have that little dog’s voice in my head all night lol.

  9. Great photos, Ellen! Pelicans, even. And the wave shots did turn out so well. My camera calls the setting ‘continuous … something’. I’m afraid to mess around again with it to check the term considering the fiasco I created on Sunday.

  10. Great pictures, there is nothing like pictures of the ocean. You captured pure beauty. Thanks for sharing. Happy Outdoor Wednesday
    Maryrose

    • Diane,
      this is my Pentax SLR camera K2000…it’s big
      Usually I’m just out and about with my Pentax optio that fits in my pocket and I can’t do quick clicking with it…

  11. BEAUTIFUL….BEAUTIFUL pictures
    I just have a simple digital camera. I hope someday to be able to take beautiful pictures. This is my first week to participate in Outdoor Wednesday.
    I love the outdoors.
    Thank You for sharing such beautiful pictures.
    debbie

  12. Good morning Ellen, your waves and beach photos are breathtaking. WOW! just says it all. Beautiful shot of the field and the lizards sunning themselves on the rocks. I can tell you are loving your camera. I am happy for you.

    Hugs…Jeanne

  13. You captured some great crash and splash. I noticed how Bill used that feature at the Amgen Tour of Cal bike race, my camera without that ability just couldn’t get a good shot of the bikers speeding, his shots were great!

  14. You take wonderful photos. I hate my camera. It takes too long for the shutter to click, I never get action shots. If I am lucky enough to get my subject in the lens, it turns out to be a blur.

  15. Ha Ha! I call it the quick clicky feature too! When I was trying mine out I ended up with 20 images of the same piece of furniture. Now why didn’t I try for a bird in flight :0!?

    Lovely pictures Ellen B.!
    I love the lizards! As you and Willow were having a conversation about them, I’m sure they were having a conversation about you. “Do you think they see us?” “I don’t know, what do you think?” “I don’t know, but maybe if we’re very still they won’t notice us here on the rocks.”
    Lizards! They must have Elf logic!

    Have a FUN DAY!!!!

    šŸ™‚ Cori G.

Leave a comment