Blue Monday ~ Wonderful Weekend!

Welcome to Blue Monday hosted by Smiling Sally. Thank you Sally for hosting this event even in the midst of your move!!

What a whirlwind weekend we’ve had. Our son flew down from Seattle for the Seattle Sounders game against Chivas the first place Los Angeles team. Even though our team dominated the game we could not get the ball into the net and Chivas beat us 1 – 0!  Six of our family members met up with us at the Home Depot Center in Carson for the game. Fun times.

On Sunday my family and Dear’s brother and sister met for a Middle Eastern Potluck at my sister’s house. I’m always so happy when my kids can spend some time with family especially their grandparents! My dad fell last week and broke a bone in his hand and had to have stitches. He is so funny he said “I can fly real good but I’m not so good on the landing”. Pretty funny for a Russian in broken English!

The cousins that got together at the potluck. We do not take for granted the amazing blessing we have and the love we share with our extended family. What fun the cousins had together and what joy we have whenever we can be with eachother.

I love this photo! This was the reaction from my sister Kathy showing one of the vegetables she grew in her garden! This is my niece Michelle, our son Josh, and niece Jessica!

My sister and her girls and grandson Jackson. What a photogenic bunch they are!!

Dear’s brother and SIL were able to be at our gathering, too. What a joy to have all of our extended family on my and Dear’s side enjoying eachother. We really do know this is a special gift from our God!

My parents escaped from Russia into Iran when they were both young so they learned to enjoy and prepare Middle Eastern Food with an Iranian influence. Our potluck was a combination of yummy seasoned lamb and chicken, Hummus and Pita bread, Tabbouleh, cheese, rice, and cucumber and tomato salad. I didn’t photograph the wonderful desserts but we had strawberry shortcake, chocolate cheesecake, and fresh fruit!

Happy Blue Monday everyone. I’ll be working on recovering from a nonstop weekend!!

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

29 thoughts on “Blue Monday ~ Wonderful Weekend!

  1. Oh, what sweet and wonderful pictures, and that food looks great, too!
    I love humus and tabbouleh.

    I hope your dad’s hand is better soon!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  2. As usual…I am envious (forgive me Lord) of the great family time you all had!! AND, the fantastic food..wow, that pot luck was different!!! Thanks for the wonderful, wonderful photos!!!
    w/luv

  3. The food looks absolutely wonderful, makes my mouth water. Family getting together is great.. we hope to have at least a few or our cousins here this summer.
    Happy Blue Monday.

  4. What a wonderful weekend you had! The smiles in the photos are heartwarming even to your readers who will never meet your family. The food looks delicious. Family, friends and good food….life doesn’t get much better, does it?

  5. Ellen, you have such a beautiful family….and it is wonderful that you are able to get together to share all that love and laughter…. memories being made…. Looks like everyone had a great weekend! Happy Blue Monday ~ Susan

  6. What a wonderful family and such beautiful pictures of the occasion. There’s a lot of love showing here. Have a wonderful day.

  7. wonderful and happy-looking family. sending good thoughts that your dad’s hand heals quickly. lived in russia many years ago. the food looks delicious. i’m hungry now. *sigh*

    paz

  8. Hi
    Oh how wonderful for all of you .
    Looks like a very thrilling turn out .
    Blessings of joy to you.
    So glad your Father is okay .
    Hugs

  9. What wonderful family photos. How lucky you are to have such an extended family to spend time with.
    The food looked delicious. I am sure it must have been a wonderful family day,

    Iris

  10. Wow that food looks so good! I love Tabbouleh-would you pass on your recipes to us? I know it tastes as good as it looks. Thanks for stopping by earlier. I hope your dad’s bone sets quickly. Sweetpea Sue

  11. Hello Ellen, your family gathering and the ball game is so wonderful. Your photos sure shared a bunch of good looking family members. Having a family gathering is absolutely the best time in the world. The food makes me hungry. Mmmmmm.

    A wonderful Blue Monday post.
    Hugs…Jeanne

  12. What fun, Ellen. I’ll say it again, I love how your extended family gets together so often. That is so neat. I hope your Dad’s wrist will mend quickly! His comment cracked me right up.

Leave a comment