Outdoor Wednesday ~ El Matador State Beach

It’s almost Wednesday and time for Outdoor Wednesday hosted by Susan at A Southern DayDreamer. I went to explore a beach I’ve never been to before last week. It’s one I’d love to go to again…

 

 

You access this beach from a steep dirt path and then some steep stairways.

 

The rocks were a great visual treat!

 

It was fun to watch the pelicans fly and land. The cormorants just sat still the whole time I was there. I took lots of photos of the pelicans and I’ve already posted some.

 

 

Happy Outdoors to you! Looking forward to seeing your outdoor shots. Here’s hoping Mr. Linky will behave and give Susan a break this week!

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

43 thoughts on “Outdoor Wednesday ~ El Matador State Beach

  1. Happy Outdoor Wednesday Ellen! What a wonderful place to explore! So many sites to see! Thanks for taking u along for the walk… and for sharing your photos.~ Susan

  2. Rock formations do make a beach much more interesting! The birds are so interesting and big! I bet this would be a good beach to search for treasures after a high tide!

  3. beautiful photos ellen.. i think i like your beach photos best of all (and that is saying a lot!) you know these views remind me of the maine beaches from when i was a child. we spent our summers on a small island.. some mornings we’d get up very early and walk down to see the seals on the rocks…

    thanks for giving me such good memories this evening☺

  4. OH! I’d like to explore there too! The odd rock formations resemble something from outer space. I’m sure the pelicans were very interesting to watch.

  5. Hi Ellen B.,

    I’ve been trying to get over here for days. Actually I’ve been here several times looking at your gorgeous pictures, but haven’t had time to comment. Sneaking peeks while at work :0!
    The shower you and Katie are hosting sounds fun!!! I have some green Indian drapes with patchwork and beading if you’d like to borrow them.
    And yes! It would be fun to meet up again and have a cup of tea or a meal or just 20 minutes of face to face.

    Have fun at the Greek Festival!!! I missed ours this year and was very sad.

    xoxo Cori G.

  6. Look at those birds sitting comfortable in that rock.

    This is a wonderful place. I guess there really is no question why you really wanted to go back to this place. I would to, if I live near that is 🙂

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

    Li

  7. Hi!
    Awesome Photos!!! The birds, the water, the rocks and sand! What a wonderful place to visit! Thanks for sharing your trip! Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  8. Beautiful pictures! Your post brought back wonderful memories for me! This beach is a local gem and not well-known aside from the locals. Haven’t been there for many years, so thanks for sharing! I grew up on the beaches of California and was lucky to be a summer and weekend resident of Paradise Cove. I live in Florida now and the Gulf of Mexico has nothing on the beauty of the Pacific!

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

  9. I loved the beach when I was younger. Now, it’s just too much work to go there for the day & too many people. I love your photos as it looks so peaceful & serene. Most important, no people!

  10. Oh my goodness! It has been raining here for most of the week. I enjoyed looking at those pelicans on a boulder near that warm, sunny beach. What a wonderful day you must have had visiting El Matador State Beach. I liked how you put some photos in a collage and left others in a larger size. Your blog is wonderful!
    Joyce M

Leave a comment