Window Views ~ Heritage Square

The windows I’m sharing today are from the Hale House at Heritage Square in Los Angeles. The buildings housed here were all moved from different areas in Los Angeles for the purpose of preserving them and restoring them. To read more about this site and the buildings preserved just click on this link.


 

The Hale House was built in 1887 by George W. Morgan, a land speculator and real estate developer, at the foot of Mount Washington just a few blocks from the museum in Highland Park. From the time of its construction, the house was sold many times and was moved from 4501 to 4425 North Pasadena Avenue (now Figueroa Street) before being purchased by James G. Hale in 1906.

 

The eight historic structures located at the museum, constructed during the Victorian Era, were saved from demolition and serve as a perfect background to educate the public about Southern California’s early development. From the simplicity of the Octagon House to the opulence of the Perry Mansion, the Museum provides a unique look at the lifestyles of the people who contributed so much to the development of modern Los Angeles.

To see more window views visit the Window Views Blog.

ht: HSM Website

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

32 thoughts on “Window Views ~ Heritage Square

  1. LOVE the first house. It reminds me of my childhood home on the ocean – my all-time favorite house. Ours was not Victorian, more 3-story Big Boston Bungalow overlooking Boston Harbor! 😀

  2. I think we have not one amazing house like that here. . .I love that architechture. . (not even sure how to spell what we don’t seem to have). . .anyways. .beautiful house pictures Ellen.

  3. I used to love Heritage Square, we lived in Highland Park the year before we moved to Sac!
    I’m amazed by how all those windows on the Hale House have leaded glass borders!

  4. Great view of those old, ornate windows! It must have been quite a job to move those large old houses. And they restoration looks terrific.

  5. The Hale House is wonderful – so unique! I hope the inside is a bit more soothing though, or no one in it would ever have a restful night’s sleep.

    Robin (the other one)

Leave a comment