Friday’s Fave Five ~

Time to look over your last week and recall your favorites!  Click on over to Susanne’s blog Living to Tell the Story to join in or see others favorites.

My favorites were very easy this week and revolved around our son Josh flying in for a quick overnight visit!

 

We picked Josh up at the Long Beach airport Saturday morning and drove across town to L.A. (right next door to Glendale) to have lunch at Tam O’ Shanter. Wonderful prime rib and wonderful old fashioned service!

 

From the Tam O’ Shanter we headed to the Heritage Square Museum in Los Angeles to see the great preservation efforts of some wonderful homes and for a classic car show.

 

So here’s the real reason our son flew down to L.A… For the Seattle Sounders Soccer game against the 1st place L.A. team, Chivas! We were just killing time at the restaurant and Heritage Square until game time :0)  There were 9 of us from my family at the game and a very boisterous Southern California Sounders fan base that we sat next to! We lost 1-0 but we still had a wonderful time.

 

Here’s our son Josh making friends with our opponents! Josh is such a great peacemaker!!

 

On Sunday before we took Josh to the airport we had a family lunch at my sisters house. Fun times with Baba and Deda and cousins and aunts and uncles on my side of the family and Dear’s side of the family, too. The time flew by and we dropped Josh off at the airport and then tried to recover from all the fun!

 

My last favorite from this last week was discovering the historic area of Oxnard. I love old wonderful architecture and wide tree lined streets filled with fabulous homes!!

I look forward to seeing your favorites from this past week. Thank you Susanne for being our hostess for this great weekly event!

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

23 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five ~

  1. Family time is on the top of my list too.

    You folks look great decked out in your green! Not only supporting your team but you also fit in well at the Irish restaurant too 🙂

    Happy weekend Ellen!

  2. My oldest child left home last year for college, so I’ve really come to appreciate those return visits home, too. Sounds like you have a wonderful son. (And I love how you display your picture collages.)

  3. What a great list for this week, Ellen. Fun that a whole bunch of you went to the game together and I love the pic of your son with a fan from the other team. So fun!

  4. Too bad your team lost, but that didn’t seem to slow you down any! Looks like a great time was had by all! Hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead, as well!

  5. What a great FFF. So nice to spend time with family and having your son down there with you at least for the weekend. Very handsome family and the food looks great. Happy FFF. Aloha

  6. Hi Ellen B.,

    YOUR MOSAIC’S LOOK GREAT!!!!! And it looks like a jam packed week filled with fabulous festivities!!! Too bad Josh couldn’t stay longer :(.

    Hey, how do you like the Long Beach Airport? I love flying out of there.

    Have a fabulous Friday my friend!!!

    xoxo Cori G.

  7. Isn’t it wonderful when you can welcome a son home for a visit? Our son is up in Vancouver and we’re on the east coast so we don’t get to see him very often but when we do, it’s such a special time.

  8. That was a great, unique post. There are so few soccer fans out there! I happen to know one of the cheerleaders for the Chivas. Long, sad story.

  9. I too love old buildings – those heritage homes look like a treasure to walk through – or even just past them!

    You certainly have a handsome son! Sounds like a memorable time with your family….so glad you had that!

  10. Totally saw you guys there with the unis and thought “maybe they were here for a game”, but then sort of dismissed it. Wow! How bout that Drew Carey (part owner of the Sounders)

Leave a comment