Christmas Home Tour ~ 2009

Welcome to the Tour of Christmas homes in Bloggy World. Our home is ready and waiting for your visit.

The reason there is a Christmas to celebrate with joy!

 

 

“I seem to see the Christmas Star that filled the world with light”

 

My clothes pin Christmas card holder is still waiting for greetings from near and far…

 

Grab a cup of cocoa and don’t worry about spilling…all the floors in my house need replacing.

Here’s a garland to remind you that you’re visiting the Northwest.

Joy is the theme of Christmas here. We want to feel the wondrous joy of that first Christmas.

 

 

 

 

Some of our Vintage Christmas…

 

This year my tree does not have all our ornaments on it. Just enough so it doesn’t look bare.

 

This will be the first Christmas in 28 years that our son Dan will not be here for Christmas.

We’ll miss his presence but we are happy for his new future and are looking forward to being together next Christmas…Lord willing.

 

We’ll all miss seeing your face Dan! We love you and miss you!

 

 

Every Christmas morning for as long as we all can remember Dear mixes up his mother’s recipe for Swedish Pancakes and cooks them for us all. He uses the 2 pan method so none of us have to wait too long for the next hot one!Ā  How we all look forward to this tradition! Thank you Dear!

Last year after Christmas I was on a mission to find some substantial nativity sets since all we had was a tiny wooden one. We ended up with this more traditional one above and this one…

 

“As with gladness men of old
Did with guiding light behold-
As with joy they hailed it’s light,
Leading onward, beaming bright-
So, most gracious Lord, may we
Evermore be led to Thee”

Merry Christmas to all who visit here. Thank you for stopping by.Ā  Blessings on you and yours!

You can visit other Christmas tours by clicking on these links.

Visit Rhoda for Home for the Holidays on the 10th

Visit the Nester for Christmas Tour of Homes on the 14th.

Visit Susan at Thoughts From Over the Rainbow on Tuesdays for Deck the Halls.

Found Another Christmas Party to Join

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

54 thoughts on “Christmas Home Tour ~ 2009

  1. yeah – if we were there you would have to take all that stuff off the hearth and anything hanging that was within reach of a toddler šŸ™‚

    • But…it would be totally ok if Miss Hope spilled anything on my floors!!
      And yes…we had very minimal Christmas decorating during the toddler years!

  2. Wow Ellen B.! For a pared down version you sure have decked the halls and everything looks so festive. Looking at your garlands has made me realize what’s wrong with mine…they’re thin and wimpy…guess I need to go buy more garland ;-).
    The picture of your kids dressed in green and coordinating with their drink is so cute! What is that drink?

    I’d like to ask you a question, but I’ll email it to you…mysterious, don’t you think? ;-).

    xoxo Cori G.

  3. Merry Christmas Ellen! What a wonderful Christmas card you’ve given us all by sharing your home with its lovely Christmas theme. Blessings to you and yours!

  4. Oh Ellen, you have so many sweet Christmas things in your home. I love the clothespin garland for Christmas cards and those Christmas stars are really beautiful too. Thank you for the tour.

  5. Ellen, you are all ready for the BIG day! I love the big JOY sign and the chairs covered in red, but most of all, I love the nativity scenes and the way your home says, “Welcome!”

  6. How warm and inviting…hope your son will have someone to make him feel at home for the holidays…I don’t really know what he’s up to. We’re all so spoiled when we have only known family together. What a fun window treatment…the garland with the two stars….LOVE IT!

  7. Magical, Ellen… You’ve created a magic Christmas wonderland in your home! So happy and inviting. I would love to live under your Christmas tree and just look around… :o) Our decorating is sooo minimal by comparison. You have every corner splendidly decked–I love that! Thank you for the grand tour and hospitality! ((HUGS))

  8. Beautiful and cozy, Ellen. Everything looks wonderful. Your NW garland made me smile. I’m sorry your son won’t be there this year but hopefully both of you will still have a wonderful celebration. Thank God for things like Skype and phones.

  9. Oh, Ellen! Your home is so beautiful wrapped in all of its Chrismasness! Your family is so lovely and I with the best for your son.
    Be a sweetie and Merry Christmas,
    Shelia šŸ˜‰

  10. Hi Ellen, Thanks for visiting me!! I love your beautiful decorations. The table was so pretty!! and also what you did to decorate your plate rack, very nice. The story of the Christmas morning pancakes, what a neat tradition. Just lovely!! Hope you will visit again. Merry Christmas and the Lord’s blessings on you and your family in the coming year. Linda

  11. What a wonderful tour…it’s amazing. I love those pancakes…that’s how my husband like to cook…or if it’s waffles, he has to have two waffle irons.
    We just appreciate them so much for whatever.
    I’m working on some of the last touches this weekend.

  12. Oh, Ellen your home looks so warm and cozy. Thank you so much for having me over and for visiting me at my place. Your comment made me smile. Have a wonderful weekend… and Merry Christmas!

    Karen
    My Desert Cottage

  13. I really enjoyed myself in this tour of your home! I love the bookcase filled with books and the tree in front–coolness, I must SAY!!! homey!!

    Is that your tablescape?? AWESOME!!

    Love the garland–with the moose and whatever! AND a cute way you have of displaying your cards!!

  14. How pretty and festive everything looks in the Northwest!

    I love all the vintage ornaments!

    I am sorry that Dan can’t be with you for the holidays.
    Rhonda

  15. You did a beautiful job and even set the table! How pretty. Love what you said about spilling on the floors. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year.

  16. Lovely home! I’d love to have your 3 little wise men with the acorn. (I have a whole collection of mice ornaments.)

    Hope to see you next week for the Holly Bloggy Christmas Bash!

  17. Hi Ellen, I see that I ‘ve chosen a wonderful day to visit and experience all the magic you’ve created while decorating your home for Christmas. It all looks so wonderful and homey. That Northwest garland is so cute! And like Rue, I love the secretary all done up in garland. Enjoy the holidays!
    šŸ™‚ Sue

  18. I soooo LOVE the Luke 2:11 print! Where did you get it? It is fantastic! I have enjoyed seeing everyones Christmas Decor! I am getting ready to post Part 2 of my tour! Thanks for stopping by! I am so glad you did

  19. Just lovely ! You really do it up right ! I love that your hubby makes the pancakes – I think you need to by him an electric griddle – that way he
    can make about 6 at 1 time – I love ours !
    Hugs ~ Kammy

  20. Ellen- Your home is “decked” to perfection–so many beautiful details! I love those Santa suits on the chairs and tried to enlarge to get a better look at your plates on the plate rack! I know it will be hard not having your son at home. I know all about giving them “roots and wings”. The “wing” part is just hard šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this at “Deck the Halls”! ps–love your pancake tradition!

  21. Ellen, I love this post! I must confess that I haven’t read your blog for a number of weeks. I’ve been out of sync and after Friday I can get caught up. We’re excited for Dan!

  22. Pingback: Christmas tour of homes

  23. Pingback: Hooked on Holiday House Tours: Party Time!

Leave a comment