Mosaic Monday ~ Holy Week is Here!

 

What does Holy Week have to do with bunnies, especially the stuffed variety? Not much but we are sorting out and Spring cleaning around here in a major way. That’s not particularly holy although it could be. So my daughter brought out all her stuffed animals and then put together all her bunnies for an Easter shot. Then she asked, “should I bring out the lambs, too?” My reply to her was “If you are still a Christian you should.” We like to concentrate on the Lamb of God at Easter time. :0) I hope you can appreciate my sense of humor…my daughter chuckled. We are very seriou about Jesus.  “Behold the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world”

 

This week we’ll be busy preparing for our Easter celebration. My sister Lana G! and I will be making Russian Easter Bread (Kulich) and a soft sweet cheese spread (Seerney Paska) to spread on the bread. My daughter Katie will color Easter Eggs. We love our traditions.

We’ll observe Good Friday. On Easter morning we’ll attend an Easter Service and greet each other with the Easter Greeting “Christ is Risen”…response “He is Risen Indeed”. My little bunnies are holding this greeting to grace our table. Any phone call we get on Easter Sunday will start with this greeting in Russian of course. Our Easter meal after church will have lamb for the main course with side dishes I haven’t decided on yet.

Hope you all have a blessed Holy Week.

Please visit Mary at The Little Red House to see more mosaics…

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

24 thoughts on “Mosaic Monday ~ Holy Week is Here!

  1. I enjoy reading about other peoples’ traditions. Yours seem particularly meaningful.

    Your daughter has quite a collection of bunnies and lambs!

  2. Wonderful, Ellen! I love this time of year — from the reading of the Passion on Palm Sunday to waking up on Easter morning… thanks so much for sharing your beautiful traditions at MM. 🙂

  3. Love your daughters bunnies and lambs, they make a nice mosaic. The bread looks yummy. Happy Easter:)

  4. Hello Ellen! What a sweet collection of soft little bunnies and lambs! So nice seeing the photos and reading about your Easter traditions. The table is beautiful and the foods so festive!

    Sending wishes for a very happy Easter!
    He is Risen Indeed!
    Kindly, ldh

  5. Coming to you from Mary’s and I’m SO glad I did! Sweet first mosaic and I love all the traditions in the second mosaic. Especially interested in your Russian Easter bread – both of our children are adopted from Russia!
    Easter blessings to you and your family here and in Russia!

  6. I always want to come and crash your parties! particularly the ones with all the (very different) Russian Food/traditions!

    so much work to make those Easter treats (I remember from last year!) and they look soooo yummy!

    I gotta go put together some baskets for my kidlets this week.

  7. Your Kulich looks wonderful..We are getting into gear..Mike will make the Babka and Rugelah, and he let me do the Kolachy..:)
    Have a wonderful blessed Easter! His peace be with you!

  8. This is a very pretty Easter mosaic, especially with your beautiful daughter front & center! What wonderful collections she had acquired, too.

    I’ll be making Polish Easter bread later this week & little cookies with apricot filling. I used to do kolachy but now I buy it from a local bakery. Theirs is better than mine! LOL

    Do you know that I could not click on your blog from your profile page? When I got your comment in my email, there wasn’t a hot link to your name. I had to return to Mary’s meme to find you. I wish I could tell you how to correct that because I’m sure lots of people are finding it hard to reply to you.

    Sending wishes for a very happy Easter!
    He is Risen Indeed!

  9. I’m not sure if I’ll be making any Easter specialties at The New Boy’s House. But we will certainly celebrate Easter!

    He is risen indeed!

Leave a comment