Across the Sound…

…to the Kitsap Peninsula.

 

The Friday before my company arrived I headed out early all by myself to the Lavender Festival in Sequim, Washington. Sequim is pronounced Skwim, one syllable. I crossed the Sound on a ferry from Edmonds to Kingston on the Kitsap Peninsula. It took me an hour to drive to Sequim from the ferry landing. I crossed another body of water, the Hood Canal, to the Olympic Peninsula and finally arrived in Sequim which sits along the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The Dungeness Spit is close by which boasts home to the very popular Dungeness Crab. This part of the Olympic Peninsula has perfect weather to grow lavender and every year the third weekend of July is set aside for the Lavender Festival.

 

The first farm I stopped at was Jardin du Soleil. I arrived here before the official opening but was still welcomed to stroll about the farm.

 

“ladies fair, I bring to you
lavender with spikes of blue;
sweeter plant was never found
growing on our english ground.”

Caryl Battersby

 

 

The second farm I stopped at was Purple Haze Lavender Farm. This one was my favorite.

 

“lavender, sweet lavender;
come and buy my lavender,
hide it in your trousseau, lady fair.
Let its lovely fragrance flow
Over you from head to toe,
lightening on your eyes, your cheek, your hair.”

Cumberkand Clark Flower Song Book 1929

 

“here’s your sweet lavender
sixteen sprigs a penny
that you’ll find my ladies
will smell as sweet as any”

Lavender Sellers’s Cry, London England CA 1900

Each farm had food vendors offering some good eats and this farm even had some creative hard drinks for sale. I tried one and some of you will be able to guess which one I tried.

 

 

 

There were other flowers besides lavender to enjoy.

 

Before I headed to 2 more farms on my way back home I stopped at the street fair for a pulled pork sandwich and while I ate I listened to Cisco, a Northwest gardening expert.

 

Cedarbrook Lavender and Herb Farm was in a nice setting and has a Garden Cafe Restaurant on the premises.

 

 

 

 

Sunshine Herb & Lavender Farm was the last farm I stopped at. It was right on the highway and was my least favorite. There were lots of interesting things to see here besides lavender, though, like this little one…

 

Every farm had a U-Pick section of their farm where you could come away with a nice bouquet of lavender for $5.

It really is worth the trip to enjoy this heady lavender experience if you ever find yourself in Washington the third weekend in July!

 

Sequim ~ The Lavender Capital of North America

I’m adding this to Outdoor Wednesday with Susan at A Southern Daydreamer.  Click on her link to see the Outdoors around the world.

Photobucket replaced all my photos with ugly black and grey boxes and they are holding my photos hostage until I pay them lots of money. I’m slowly going through all my posts and trying to clean them up and replacing some photos. Such a bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

27 thoughts on “Across the Sound…

  1. Heavenly!! I can feel the thrill of being in such a place!! The purple lavender, red/pink poppies and green is over the top!! The guy in the orange jacket is holding Hot Lips salvia……so pretty!! Thanks!!!

  2. I am so so so so…JeAlOuS !!!!…Lavender is my favorite..and we lived on the Kitsap Peninsula for 7 years..shame on US…I think I might just have to drive it myself one year…your pictures are beautiful….we too have seen Cisco…at the Home Show at the Puyallup Fairgrounds, we thought he was hilarious…
    I am glad you got to take in all the beauty and the fragrance…and yes…I am still jealous…
    Deby

  3. This is what heaven must look like, surely?! I hope so! LOVED every moment of this outing with you, Ellen… all that lovely lavender… *swoon*… I’ll take a lavender lemonade & vokda, please! ;o) Happy Day ((HUGS))

  4. Oh my…what beautiful color you are surrounded with…and the lambie is so cute….My friend, Paula and hubby are moving back to E. Wash. state in the
    fall. They have invited me to visit their land next year and I will be coming to W.
    Wash. state to see the beauty you have…Also will go to BC to see their
    beauty….Thank you for sharing…

  5. These pictures are so beautiful Ellen! I planted a sad little bunch of lavender in a pot and it died after a few weeks. I don’t think I live in the right climate….

  6. Oh my goodness…what a treat!!!

    Third weekend in July, 2011. It is ON my calendar. May I tag along with you? (It made me happy to read that there is another woman out there in blogland who heads out alone when adventures like this are afoot. Friends are great, but I never let lack of companionship hold me back either.)

    • I’d love to experience the lavender G & T uh, I mean the lavender festival with you Jill! And yes I can’t sit at home waiting for the right person to be free for my adventures :0)

  7. Ellen, what gorgeous photos….so much color. I’ve always wanted to visit this Sequim lavender festival, and now you’ve convinced me it’s really worth the effort. Maybe next year!

    I had a taste of lavender ice cream at the harboron San Juan Island on Saturday. It was really delicious.

  8. Those pictures are fabulous. What a lucious field of lavender. The shot with the red building is out of this world. Would love to visit this area.

  9. This is the first year that I have become aware of lavender farms.
    I have done street festivals and Renaissance fairs and attended all sorts of local farming promotional days, but never any sort of lavender celebration.
    This may be one of my retirement trips I have to plan and look forward to.

  10. Oh my…your photos are beyond awesome! What a wonderful day you must have had. I love lavendar and have a bunch growing in my yard….but that…just amazing!!

  11. I haven’t ever seen such beautiful photos of lavender. Interspersing poppies is a brilliant idea, and if I get a lavender farm of my own one day I must try that :-). I have a friend who lives in Sequim but she only posted photos of the parade and the people in it. Now I know more about the lavender part!

Leave a comment