FFF ~ Southern Charm & Epic Celebrations…

I’ve been sharing this week about Katie and my travels to South Carolina to see her guy graduate from Boot Camp and officially become a Marine. Being at Parris Island and experiencing these celebrations was unforgettable. Here are more favorites to share with y’all during our trip. Visit Susanne at Living to Tell the Story to join in the fun.

 

The food! We ate at 4 great restaurants and we were not disappointed at any of them. Fried green tomatoes were on my list to try and they were delicious. The fish tacos on top of grits with smoked gouda were pretty memorable, too. I didn’t eat that vertical cobb salad but it was a feast for the eyes. The popovers were huge and the trio of desserts was yummy. We ate at Wren, Emily’s, The Beaufort Inn, and Pannini’s in Beaufort. I’d recommend any of these places to eat if you ever travel there.

 

I really enjoyed the architecture and the beautiful water scenes we got to see. This is “Low Country”. The Lowcountry is often thought of as a geographic and social identifier. While there is a general consensus on defining Lowcountry as it relates to culture, there is a considerable difference of opinion on its geographic extent. According to some historians, the Lowcountry extends from the Sandhills of South Carolina, just east of Columbia, to the coast. This area is mostly near or below sea level; thus the term “low country”.

 

 

 

Katie and I at Wren Restaurant. This was one of the hours that my hair didn’t look like Bozo the clown. The South and the humidity don’t do anything for my hair. As charming and beautiful as the South is I could never live in that heat and humidity.

 

On our way home form the South we had a layover at the Dallas Airport. We were so excited to spend time at the airport with my brother and Miss Hope. Because Andrew was military they gave my brother and Hope a pass to go through security and sit with us at our gate! Miss Hope kept us entertained. We also got to board with first class on all the legs of our flight. I was really impressed that the airlines gave our military special treatment!

Our biggest announcement this week is that Andrew asked Katie to marry him! Katie is thrilled and we are throwing a quick engagement open house on Sunday before Andrew flies to North Carolina for 9 weeks of Infantry School.

So our heads are spinning around here. Hope y’all had a good week and I’ll be by to see your favorites in between shopping and preparing for the Engagement party!

Photobucket replaced all my photos with ugly black and grey boxes and they are holding my photos hostage until I pay them lots of money. I’m slowly going through all my posts and trying to clean them up and replacing some photos. Such a bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

22 thoughts on “FFF ~ Southern Charm & Epic Celebrations…

  1. What a beautiful couple! congratualtions on the engagement and may God guide and bless them! I can’t imagine what kind of life will be wating for them with his training, but it will be an adventure and I know that you will enjoy it with them . .. even when your heart is beating somewhere outside your body.

  2. What a lovely love time you had from the food to the fantastic family news (look at those happy happy smiles on Katie and Andrew!) to gorgeous views of the south. But I’m with you on the heat and humidity.

  3. I can imagine the head spinning! Wow, what a busy but joyous time. Those pics make me miss Charleston, one of my favorite places to visit. We lived on the other side of the state, and though the heat and humidity were awful, the winters weren’t bad — I couldn’t live with a lot of snow and ice and freezing temps.

    Congrats on the engagement!

  4. So lovely. I sometimes wish I could handle humidity so I could live in the south. I love the flora, fauna and the architecture! Have a wonderful weekend Ellen.

  5. Excellent week you had my friend. Love it. 🙂 Congrats again to Katie and Andrew 🙂 And thanks for sharing all you did this week. Was wonderful. Have a great weekend 🙂

  6. Oh hurray! I’m so happy for Katie and Andrew! Yes, kudos to the airlines for honoring our military!

    When my parents lived in Columbia, I visited a couple of times. Always in the winter or early spring 🙂 The Low Country is truly beautiful!

  7. Congrats to Katie and Andrew! My daughter’s fiance graduated from boot camp as well this weekend, but unfortunately not in the Low Country. Awesome photos – it makes me want to go there!

  8. wonderful, Katie and Andrew look so happy together. Sometimes these last minute parties are the best, good luck with the engagement party.

    Awesome shots in the South, I’m not one for humility either. Food food food, always in every corner when you are trying to forget it, lol. Looks good though

  9. Well I can see, like you that it’s sure hard to keep it down to five favorites at times eh? I’m so excited for Katie and Andrew…I can imagine your head is spinning….but let it spin and have fun..

  10. Well, you have had QUITE a week! How exciting — a big congrats to you and everyone!!

    Your pictures make the Lowcountry look like another world. Just lovely.

    Enjoy the joy — and have a great week.

  11. Now that was a week of ‘happenings’! Lovely picture of the happy couple. Wishing them many blessings…and much joy as they prepare for their life together.

  12. WhooHoo! Congratulations to Katie and Andrew! That is exciting news, indeed! I’m looking forward to all the wedding prep posts that will be coming! And you’re a little sneak leaving that to the very end and giving us a big surprise.

Leave a comment