An Eyeful…

…on a 2 mile walk.

 

In lovely weather with the sun shining, my camera and I walked from the Pyramid Alehouse restaurant to Harbor steps across the street from the Seattle Art Museum. I love the details on many of the buildings downtown.

 

 

Occidental Park in Pioneer Square

 

 

 

 

Look closely and you’ll see the Space Needle.

 

 

The side of the Seattle Art Museum. The higher building beyond will soon be where Dear will be spending his days.

 

The Hammering Man at the Seattle Art Museum.

 

Dear’s future home away from home.

 

Harbor Steps across the street from the Art Museum. This is where I turn around and head the mile back to Qwest field for a Sounders game.

 

We call this building the ban roll-on building. Dear worked in that building back in the 90’s.

 

 

 

The Totem Pole in Pioneer Square. There is such an interesting history behind this pole and the original pole that you can read here.

 

 

The Pergola in Pioneer Square. Interesting facts about the Pergola can be read here.

The Pergola had to be replaced after a truck plowed into it in 2001!

There’s nothing quite like downtown Seattle on a nice day.

I’m linking up with Susan for Outdoor Wednesday.

Photobucket replaced all my photos with ugly black and grey boxes and they are holding my photos hostage until I pay them lots of money. I’m slowly going through all my posts and trying to clean them up and replacing some photos. Such a bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

18 thoughts on “An Eyeful…

  1. We try to come to Seattle a few times every year. Once for a Mariner’s game, once to the zoo, and I love to come and look at art. I think it’s one of the loveliest cities in the nation…although I know I’m a bit partial.
    Your photos are giving me the itch to come to the city!

  2. Seattle is a beautiful city! Love all those photos you have captured so well! The architecture is very lovely! Thanks for taking us along and giving us an eye full of eye candy!

  3. Hi Ellen B,
    It’s nice to see shots of Seattle,, I rarely get out and walk when I go. I should get out more ha! Love the shot of the pergola:-) I peeked at your profile, I was raised in LA too:-)
    Have a great week:-)
    Bella

  4. I certainly enjoyed the cyber tour of Seattle. I haven’t ever been there. Seattle is on my “bucket list.” Take care. See you next week.
    Joyce M

  5. What a lovely walk – and it was interesting to read the facts. Imagine the boldness of the civic leaders waltzing up to Alaska and stealing a totem!….and that lovely pergola was to shelter an underground restroom – no way such a beautiful structure would be built for such a purpose today.

  6. So many great pictures. I loved the Ban Roll-On building…funny. I have just started noticing old buildings in the town I grew up in….so much detail in old buildings.

  7. A lovely visit to downtown Seattle. It brings back many memories — as my mother was a patient at Virginia Mason for five weeks one early spring. We found it to be a pleasant city.

  8. An interesting walk! We walked many of those same steps on our last visit to Seattle…and took many of the same pictures (Pioneer Square & the pergola). It’s a great place to walk…especially in the sunshine!

  9. I’m not a city girl but I would love to walk around Seattle – it’s so interesting and filled with beautiful architecture.

    Thanks for taking me along on your walk Ellen!

  10. What a beautiful city. A lovely walk! The details on the old buildings are amazing….and such an elaborate washroom pergola.

Leave a comment