K is for Katie!

K is for Katie

K is for our Katie. Katherine on her birth certificate. This photo was taken by Jamie Spiro. This is a repost from a few years back but I was stumped for the letter K and am always ready to share about our wonderful daughter Katie.

Our Katie has an amazing amount of knowledge stored in her brain and I will show you some photos that might explain where some of that knowledge comes from.

At a very young age if Katie went missing this is where you would find her.

She was most drawn to books with words, not picture books. We had a few old school reading books and these are the ones she’d pull off the shelf and carefully go through.

As you can see she did not have a shortage of toys but she always seemed to go for the books.

We didn’t realize how well she could read until a trip to Meadowdale Beach Park with our friends the Spiro’s. Jody was walking hand in hand with Katie when they came to the tunnel under the railroad tracks that took you to the beach side of the park. As they approached this tunnel with this sign Katie said quite clearly to my friend Jody, “Caution Low Head Clearance”

We realized then that we had an almost 4 year old who definitely knew how to read. Who knows how much she was reading without us knowing before this experience.

Here’s Katie in a Kilt that I bought in Scotland in 1973! Hard to believe it fit me once.

Here’s our Katie in 2010 on the night she got engaged to Andrew.

Katie and Andrew were married at the Magistrate’s office in North Carolina when she visited Andrew March 11, 2011. He is deployed at present and when he returns we will be having an official wedding. Right now it looks like that wedding could be on March 11, 2012. We have to wait on the Marines to know for sure. For those of you who pray, please pray for our Andrew in Afghanistan and for our Katie as she waits for his safe return. Semper Fi!

I’m linking to Alphabe-Thursday with our great teacher Jenny! Thank you Jenny for keeping us on track.

Photobucket replaced all my photos with blurred out versions and photobucket stamped versions. They are holding my photos hostage until I pay them lots of money. I’m slowly going through all my posts and trying to clean them up and replacing some photos. Such a bother.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

20 thoughts on “K is for Katie!

  1. Wow ! reading at 4 ! she must then have been in a special school for children with a higher IQ than normal ! It’s sad that being a soldier you have to wait for a wedding date ! Meanwhile they look very happy together also without marriage !

  2. It looks like you might be able to do a post one of these days about feet pajamas too!

    Your young reader pics are great, and I love that you included the grown up version–she’s lovely and will be a beautiful bride when the tcome for the official wedding comes.

  3. A wonderful K post. I will be praying for Andrew and Katie. May God protect and bless their relationship even in this time of being apart.

  4. Just attended a wedding where the bride’s cousin introduced me to her Marine fiance. Great guy…thought of Katie and her great guy.

  5. What a prodigy Katie was, reading those words at 4! Your K post is lovely Ellen. Katie is adorable and her Andrew is wonderful. They make a beautiful couple. And what patience it must take to wait a year for a formal wedding. I wish them all the best!

  6. I will pray for Andrew and for Katie while they are separated by the
    distance that war brings. I am praying for several young men serving
    in distant lands.
    God Bless your 4th. of July weekend.
    Love from NC,
    Sandy

  7. Lovely is your Katie–and LOVE that bright blue dress she is sporting! Thinking of her Andrew and others serving us aboard… Happy 4th weekend to you all :o) ((HUGS))

  8. She certainly got off on the right foot. Working in a library I love to see enthusiastic readers..What a pretty young lady she is!

  9. First, I will add Andrew to my daily prayer list. Thank you all for the sacrifice you are making for our country.

    Your daughter is lovely. I can feel the pride in every word you wrote…and I can totally understand why. By the sounds of her, your pride is well justified.

    Thank you for a lovely link this week.

    I enjoyed meeting Katie!

    A+

Leave a comment