The Atlantic

On our last full day in North Carolina we headed on an adventure to the seashore. We traveled east to Emerald Isle/Crystal Coast of N.C.

We traveled the length of Emerald Isle across to the mainland to Beaufort.

We walked along the sand and collected a couple handfuls of shells.

It was good to walk along the beach again. It’s been a long time since our weekly walks along the Pacific Ocean.

Seems like mushrooms can grow in many environments…

Here are the shells we collected.

I’ll share our stops at the aquarium, Beaufort, and Fort Macon in the next few days.

On Saturday after our day out Dear and I left for the airport home. It was hard to say goodbye to Katie and leave her alone. We know she’ll do well and that soon she’ll be reunited with Andrew. I also know I will have those tearful moments as I adjust to our empty nest. The triggers that lead to tears vary. The first trigger was walking past Katie’s room. Oops! I might just have to redecorate sooner than later. But first I need to start getting our home ready for our Christmas celebrations!

I’m linking up for Mosaic Monday with Mary at Little Red House.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

29 thoughts on “The Atlantic

  1. I can not imagine. Your empty nest is so different than ours— our girls are so close. I’m putting you on my prayer board— to help me remember to pray as you go through this season. Thankful you know the One who holds all our tears.

  2. Thanks for taking us along on your trip! Beautiful photos along the seashore! It’s quite an adjustment to have an empty nest, but the Lord will give new strength for each new day!

  3. It sounds like you had such a wonderful trip. It’s been fun to tag along via your posts. I’m sure it will feel mighty empty around your house without Katie around, and I hope Christmas festivities help make it not quite so lonely. Bet she misses you too!

  4. Beautiful photos of a lovely time at the ocean. I like to collect shells too. I really never got to the empty nest stage because grandchildren have come and our youngest is still home (age 20). But, I know it has been a big adjustment for my friends. Those moments together must be very special 🙂

    Kindly, Lorraine

  5. Looks like a lovely trip. I know you will miss your daughter, but you have your own adventure ahead of you. Enjoy it! Hugs to you and I love those shells!

  6. Some great shots of the ocean! Especially that second last one with the clouds. I looked at your cook book when I was in Scott’s Parables in Red Deer AB the other week. 🙂 I am a new empty nester this year, takes some getting used to for sure. Maybe blogging has come into my life at a good time…. Have a happy day, stopping by from Mosaic Monday.

  7. I cannot imagine either of our daughters being that far away, the furthest is about a 3 hr drive. We talk lots on the phone which makes up for not seeing each other as much as we’d like. The separation does get easier with time. Lovely beach photos.

  8. The Atlantic looks pretty much like the Pacific…except for the interesting plants along the shoreline…and I never would have guessed mushrooms grow in the sand!

    I empathize with your tender mother-heart and tears…I’ve been there.

    Enjoy getting your home decorated for Christmas! May it bring you lots of joy. And I know you’ll be sharing the results with us eventually.

  9. Ellen…I had a few tears here seeing Katie and her dad…..I know those daughter father relationships. Heart tugging tenderness…wishing her the very best at each step of life’s journey. Beautiful photos.

  10. Thanks for sharing your images and your thoughts about leaving Katie behind and the start of the empty nest syndrome. How fast time flies – one day they are a babe in arms, then off to school, and suddenly they are leaving home. Where did all those years go?
    I wish Katie and both of your all the best for the next steps in life’s journey. Take care and have a wonderful week and Christmas.

  11. Such wonderful photos! Fun to see everything through your eyes. The empty nest is hard at times. Ours has been empty for several years now, but I still miss my kids a lot. It was so wonderful to have them here at Thanksgiving! I pray that we have those kinds of opportunities more often.

    ~Linnea

  12. Enthusiastic nest blues can be avoided by moving…like we did…but then no one ever really feels like there is a home to go to any more. Kinda sad.

Leave a comment