Maundy Thursday…

Thursday of Holy Week or Passion Week is Maundy Thursday.

GOTW-practice035

 

Excerpts from John chapter 13…

It was just before the Passover Feast. Jesus knew that the time had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he now showed them the full extent of his love.

Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God;  so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist.  After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them.  “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am.  Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.  I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

“Maundy Thursday is the Thursday of Holy Week (the Thursday before Easter). It was the day on which Jesus celebrated the Passover with his disciples, sharing a meal with them which we call the Last Supper.

In those days it was usual for a servant to wash the guests feet on arrival. On this occasion there was no servant present and none of the disciples volunteered to do the menial task. Instead, Jesus got up and washed his disciples feet, giving them an object lesson in humility and service.

In some churches priests carry out a ceremonial washing of the feet of twelve men on Maundy Thursday as a commemoration of Christ’s act.

The word “Maundy” comes from the Latin for ‘command’ (mandatum). It refers to the command given by Jesus at the Last Supper, that his disciples should love one another.”

 

~~~~~

What Jesus did here to teach his disciples is very important for Christ followers to consider. He showed the “full extent of his love” by washing their feet and instructed them to follow his example and wash each others feet. We can’t miss the fact that serving one another is a very important truth that Jesus wants us to understand and follow. I need to put others needs above my own. Who does God want me to serve? Who am I suppose to wrap the towel around my waist for? Who am I suppose to lay down my rights and privileges for? Who am I to show the full extent of my love to?  Who am I suppose to humble myself for? It’s not easy to be a disciple/follower of Jesus but it is worth it.

The photo of the statue of Jesus washing Peter’s feet was taken by me at the Garden’s of the World in Thousand Oaks, California.

I’m linking up with Teacher Jenny for Alphabe-Thursday and we are on the letter T.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

23 thoughts on “Maundy Thursday…

  1. A truly meaningful post. I’m so glad I stopped back by. It’s when we take the focus off self that we are more Christlike. Thanks for the lovely reminder of His gift to us. Happy Easter, many blessings, xo marlis

  2. Loved your beautiful photo illustration of your post. I used to be a home health nurse, and when I would soak people’s feet and cut their toenails for them, I often thought of Jesus doing this for His disciples, and equated my doing this for my patients as doing it for Him – even though I got paid for doing it!

  3. We have a Maundy Thursday service tonight with footwashing – it’s always soooo meaningful.
    Love the cross – is it the same one that was used at the wedding? It’s lovely!

  4. You are so right, Ellen, when you say its not easy to be a disciple of our Lord Jesus Christ but it is definitely worth it! Happy Easter to you and your family!

  5. I never knew the meaning of maundy before. Thank you.

    That statue was lovely. My mother would enjoy visiting that park!

    Thanks for a terrific and informative link to the letter T this week.

    A+

Leave a comment