Tiffany Dome

I had read about the wonderful Tiffany glass dome in the Cultural Center in Chicago just across from Millennium Park so I jumped off the trolley to go have a look. I was greeted by a 3-story vaulted lobby with walls of white marble and mosaics.

The dome was restored to Tiffany’s original vision. Now the dome can be seen as it was in 1897, when the building opened as the first Chicago Public Library, and the room now named Preston Bradley Hall was where people picked up the books they had requested. Natural light shines through the glass, changing the subtle colors of the restored glass minute-by-minute. There is much evidence in the buildings interior to point to the fact that this building used to be the first Chicago Public Library.

The cultural center is free and the hours it’s open are very generous. I missed another dome in the building that I read about after the fact.

Today, Wednesday, I’m cashing in a Mother’s Day present from middle son for a massage. I think I’ve needed one since Katie and Andrew’s wedding in March. I booked the full 90 minute tranquility massage. Ahhh….If you don’t hear from me you’ll know that I’m in relaxation mode.

I’m also be linking to Alphabe-Thursday with Miss Jenny for the letter D…dome!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

26 thoughts on “Tiffany Dome

  1. So beautiful – I’ve not seen this building, but I will the next time I am home in the Chicago ‘burbs for a visit 🙂

  2. Oh my word….so much beauty, so much detail. SO GLAD you got to go to share with us. I’ll have to put this on my list for things to see when we go back to Chicago. WOW. YAY for a massage….I might need to schedule one soon. I would go weekly if I could afford it. Such a wonderful gift!

  3. Wow! Can anyone be fully satisfied with a visit to a little branch library after seeing how magnificent that library is? I think of modern Spartan design libraries and churches are missing something.

  4. Ellen, what gorgeous pictures! That first picture of the dome just took my breath. How wonderful that they restored it to its previous splendor. Thank you for sharing this tour. I really enjoyed it. laurie

  5. There is something to marvel about everywhere and the Tiffany Cultural Center is evidence of that! Tiffany glass is so beautiful and to see something this large is amazing! Your pictures are so good, too! Thanks for the experience!!
    A 90 minute massage will leave you relaxed!! 🙂 I’m happy for you.

  6. What a fabulous place! I loved all the sayings and quotes built into the dome.
    Enjoy that massage and just say ahhhhhhhhhh.

  7. I have never been in this building…..it will have to get on my next Chicago “have to” list! Your pictures make it look amazing, which I’m sure it is.

    Your message sounds vvveeerrryyy rreeeellllaaaxxxxinggg……..;)

  8. Gorgeous these pictures ! When I visited Chicago for the first time, I was amazed about the beautiful architecture of the skyscrapers too. Usually they are ugly but the old once in Chicago just were beautiful !

  9. How have I missed this in Chicago?

    Those quotes are gorgeous and the whole place is absolutely jaw dropping.

    Hope your massage was fabulous!

    Thanks for a delightful link.

    A+

Leave a comment