The Five…

Today is Friday and I’m joining Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for her Friday’s Fave Five. It’s good to think back over the past week and see the good things in life that God has blessed you with to enjoy.

1. Vareniki have become traditional for my family to prepare together before Christmas and then to serve on Christmas Eve for dessert. My mom’s version are larger and fancier than these but when I don’t get my mom’s these are the next best thing. I can buy them at a European Deli not too far form my home. They call them perogies but the Russian on the upper left translates to Vareniki with cheese. After they are formed, filled with cheese and sealed they are boiled cooled and frozen. We like to serve them hot out of the oven after they are cooked from their frozen state with butter and 1/2 and 1/2. Then we plop some sour cream on top and cover them with good maple syrup. Delicious! We had these for breakfast last Saturday before we started in on cleaning out the garage loft.

2. When we crave a good meatball sandwich we drive to a pizza joint in Lynnwood. We’ve tried to find a good one closer to us but they always disappoint. These were delicious as usual. I brought half of mine home for another day. All my favorites aren’t about food but it seems the freezing snap we’ve had since last Friday made us seek out some of our favorite comfort foods.

3. Our favorite sons both have birthdays this week. We are so thankful that God blessed us with them. Each one is unique and appreciated!

4. I’m thankful for the local library where I can put books on hold and then check out to enjoy without spending lots of money. The book in the middle is co-authored by our friend Lela Gilbert. Lela has a new book out that I’ve ordered from Amazon called, Saturday People, Sunday People. I’ll share more about it after it arrives. Without Reservations was recommended to me by Susan in Switzerland after she read about our upcoming trip to Milan. The Unofficial Downton Abbey cookbook is just for fun.

5. We are excited about finally sending our chairs out to be reupholstered. They were in sorry shape after 36 years or so of wear and tear. We are looking forward to their new look and feel.

In the meantime the table is very lonely.

Looking forward to coming around and seeing your favorites this week. What’s in store for your weekend? Some of us in the U.S. get a long weekend since Monday is Martin Luther King, Jr. observance. Dear’s company doesn’t give him the day off. We hope to celebrate with Josh and Laura on Sunday if they are well enough. (Lousy illnesses gripping our world!) We also are plowing forward to try to  finish the clean up in the garage. Blessings!!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

20 thoughts on “The Five…

  1. I hope you stay well around your kids. Stupid germs. Happy Birthday to your boys! Looking forward to seeing what you decided to do with your chairs.

  2. I should know better than to take a peek at your blog when hungry. Oh that meatball sub looks amazing!

    So glad that you located Without Reservations – I think you’ll like her style of writing and experiences. The book begins in Paris – what better place to start? 🙂

    Still can’t believe I’ll be in Washington State when you are just across the border from me. Timing is everything.

    Happy Weekend!

  3. It’s funny but I thought perogies had meat in them. I remember hearing about them when we lived in Manitoba.

    You’re right about cold weather and cozy food – they go together 🙂

    A very Happy Birthday to your boys!

    xo

  4. Ellen, I’ve never eaten Vareniki. I’ll have to see if i can find that. The sub and soup look soooo good. I can’t wait to see your chairs. It’s always fun to get a new look for something in your home. Your two b’day boys are so good looking. I am so grateful for your prayers for our little Cooper. laurie

  5. OH YUM to the meat ball subs! i haven’t had one of those in a VERY long time!! Yay for birthday boys and getting chairs redone! That will be great!! My husband and I are BIG fans for DOWNTON ABBEY!!!!! i had no idea there was an unofficial cookbook!!! 🙂 what fun!! enjoy…….

  6. That meatball sandwich looks fabulous. Yum. A Downton Abbey cookbook? How fun is that, I’ll have to see if our library has it. Great picture of your sons! There’s just something about seeing a photo of brothers looking happy together:) Have a great weekend, Ellen

  7. A holiday in the middle of January? Sounds like a good idea to me. I could think of a few things to celebrate. Hope you get to party with your kids on Sunday.

  8. Enjoyed your 5, we love pierrogi, miss dh’s mom and aunt making them for us. I did it a few times, flour flying all over the place! Maybe we will do it again for Easter, along with the Babka.

    Downtown Abbey cookbook? The English as well as the Irish were not known for their cuisine, I know it has changed. I of course exempt myself from that bad rap, lol, but I really don’t remember too many gourmet meals growing up! Basic meat and potatoes and everyone was fine with it! Lasagna was considered exotic, and the spice rack in our home held salt and pepper, caraway for the soda bread, and cloves for the ham! Oh yes, cinnamon too!

    Have a wonderful weekend, look fwd to seeing your new chairs!

  9. Goodness, Ellen. That meatball sandwich has me salivating! Aren’t libraries WONDERFUL? If you haven’t already, check out Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (story of Highclere).

  10. Happy birthday to your boys. We have one Dec. birthday, two Jan. ones, and a Feb. one — it’s the birthday season at our house! That meatball sandwich looks simply delicious. (and the book, Blind Spot, looks interesting — I’m going to look it up!)

    Have a great week ahead!

  11. I’m in agreement – the meatball sandwich looks amazing!

    I have two children whose birthdays are 12 days apart, but both in the same week must have been a little difficult over the years. Did they ever share birthday parties?

    • Jerralea, Yes many of our family birthday parties for the boys were a combined birthday party especially after we moved farther from the rest of the family and they had to travel an hour to get to our place… 🙂

  12. Wow, your chairs lasted 36 years with the same covers and they are still in good enough shape to be recovered! Now that is some well made furniture!

    Happy birthday to your boys! And now I really, really want a meatball sandwich and to try those Russian yummies!

Leave a comment