G is For…

We have reached the letter G for Alphabet Wednesday. Thank you to the Alphabet Wednesday Team for keeping us going.

How about some Royal Gates? These were taken at Buckingham Palace in September of 2013 which happen to be in Great Britain.

London Sunday 006

Whenever I see mighty Gates like these I think of  Psalm 100 in the Bible. This is the portion I think of, verses 4 and 5.

“Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
    and his courts with praise!
    Give thanks to him; bless his name!

For the Lord is good;
    his steadfast love endures forever,
    and his faithfulness to all generations.”

London Sunday 017Do you think that there’s real gold in these royal gates? Maybe someone from Great Britain can tell us.

How about a Guinness? Notice the golden harp.

P1040737

Hope your day is full of good things, good news, good food, and good thoughts!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

23 thoughts on “G is For…

  1. I think of Biblical gates too. Psalm 24, used in Handel’s Messiah: Psalm 24:7-10
    King James Version (KJV)
    7 Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in.
    8 Who is this King of glory? The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle.
    9 Lift up your heads, O ye gates; even lift them up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in.
    10 Who is this King of glory? The Lord of hosts, he is the King of glory.

    ROG, ABCW

  2. Great post here! Love your photos – at first I thought those gates were from Kensington Palace, but then realized I was wrong. Not an ale drinker, but love your photo.

    Leslie
    abcw team

  3. Anything related to Great Britain gets my vote!
    Re: hiking in the Santa Monicas–do you remember WHEN you hiked there? What month? I know I did a long hike in the same area around the same time and I can’t find the photos to compare the vegetation then and now.

    • I have a lot of Matt Redman’s cd’s , I’ll have to see if that song is on one of them. He and Chris Tomlin are 2 of my favorites…

      • I think it’s called King of glory” but the song I actually had in mind is from “Delirious?” Happy to meet someone who loves Matt Redman:)

  4. Those gates are so majestic. What I liked best was your closing wish for all of us. Thanks and hope you have a great week too.

  5. Despite visiting London numerous times I have never made the trip to Buckingham Palace and those gorgeous gates you show. To balance out my omission I have had a Guinness or two!

Leave a comment