U is for Unusual

…not habitually or commonly occurring or done.

It’s time for ABC Wednesday and the letter U!

Airlie Gardens 046When our daughter Katie and I visited Airlie Gardens in Wilmington, North Carolina we came upon this unusual structure in their sculpture garden.

Airlie Gardens 028This Bottle Chapel was created as a three-dimensional representation of Minnie’s paintings.

Airlie Gardens 045

Airlie Gardens 043

Airlie Gardens 040

Airlie Gardens 036

 

 

Airlie Gardens 034

 

Airlie Gardens 032I’m adding a link that shows some of Minnie Evans’ actual art pieces.

Thank you to the ABC Wednesday Team for 7 years of ABC fun and to Roger who tackled the letter U this week!

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

16 thoughts on “U is for Unusual

  1. El, I love this blog! Check out this wonderful sculpture made with bottles in North Carolina!! It is so cool! She’ll

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. What a great find – beautiful photos, thanks for sharing! Minnie Evans work was so colorful and full of life – the sculpture garden captures it very well. Your posts about North Carolina are making me want to do a road trip!

  3. That is a wonderful piece of whimsy! Do you have photo files for all the various memes you participate in? Unusual is just so not usual! I’d have to go looking for it. Loved seeing Katie through the window.

    • Vee, Files? I wish I had files. Mostly I fly by the seat of my pants! If I knew then what I know now I would have filed all my photos differently…

  4. Such a vibrant piece of art, and a nice memorial to the artist. Your link was useful in giving greater understanding of the piece.
    I gave a rueful laugh at your ‘files’ comment above, “if I knew then…”, oh yes, my unreliable memory is no substitute a bit of organisation, LOL.

Leave a comment