X is for…

So here we are at good ole X in the alphabet. This is a letter for ABC Wednesday that takes a little creativity. Thank you to the ABC team for managing this meme and to Denise Nesbitt the founder.

Did you know that X stands for Christ and Cross and other stuff, too?

At Easter I make a Russian sweet cheese spread called Seernaya Paska that we spread on Russian Easter Bread that is called Paska by a lot of people and Kulich by my Russian relatives. In the Russian alphabet X is the first letter in Christ. We decorate the sweet cheese spread with an X and a B. X for Christ and B for arose/risen. Christ is Risen.

2014-03-027

If you are a regular on my blog you know I like to wander around very old cemeteries. There are always a great variety of crosses to photograph. Here are a couple.

Bellefontaine 026Bellefontaine 021

Windmills have a natural X visible from the formation of their rotor blades.

IMGP0229This windmill is located at the Mennonite Heritage Village in Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada.

P1030918This Windmill is located at Roozengaarde Tulip Garden in Mount Vernon Washington State.

That’s it for my offerings on the letter X. I’ll be curious to come around and see what you found for this challenging letter.

Summer has arrived in the Northern Hemisphere. I’m still watching all the World Cup Soccer I can fit in. Our bathroom renovation is progressing. Never a dull moment at this old house. Someone mentioned and I’m in agreement that we don’t seem to have ordinary weeks or days anymore. I’ll have to cling to the verse in the Bible that says…

“This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

19 thoughts on “X is for…

  1. Oh great post. Love the windmill. The crosses are so pretty. I had a hardtime with the Scavenger hunt Sunday prompts this week. You might want to see my post. Is the
    ABC Wed. continuing starting over? I am sorry I missed it. I do Jennys on Thursday.
    Thanks for sharing. Have a great Wed.
    Sherry

    • Sherry, Yes the ABC Wednesday is going to start over again. I get a little overwhelmed by Thursday so I chose the Wednesday option. Take care!

  2. Hi again. I loved doing the Once Upon a Time Post. I did one for Blue Monday awhile back and got a lot of feedback. I really enjoy doing a little story with my posts when I can. Thanks for letting me know about ABC Wed. I’ll check it out! Thanks.

  3. It’s me again. Sorry. I wanted to comment I love your header photo. I am planning a tea party post. You’ve given me some great ideas!. It’s very pretty.

  4. Hi Ellen! For me this is an interesting and beautiful post, especially the Russian traditions The X is indeed a religious symbol in many churches. It is of course the Saint Andrew cross, which is also represented in the Scottish flag. Thanks for your post.
    Wil, ABCW Team

  5. What a wonderful post, the first cross looked like a Celtic cross and the second one, although rustic in style was my favourite. Like most comments I loved the Windmill with the tulips around it, I really thought it was Dutch ! I remember singing the Psalm ‘This is the day the lord has made’…. when I was a chorister in the local church choir,,,you have stirred some wonderful memories for me, thank you so much,
    Di.x

  6. Lovely decorations on the Easter cake and a nice tradition. I was intrigued by what the Seernaya Paska might taste like so looked up the recipe, sounds like you could live off it for a week. You’ve certainly given a wide ranging X this week.

  7. Your Russian Easter bread looks sublime! Is there a recipe you can share? I, too, find peace and beauty in wandering old cemeteries. Lovely X post. Blessings to you.

  8. Brilliant!! Your pictures are great and such a clever use for “X”!!! Ellen – I’m so behind on commenting and reading all my favourite blogs. June has just been C-R-A-Z-Y around here or maybe I’m just getting too slow??

Leave a comment