Gloucester Cathedral

On day 8 of our trip in England we traveled from the Paxford in the Cotswolds to Ross on Wye stopping in Bourton on the Water and Gloucester. There were two places we wanted to visit in Gloucester, the cathedral and the “Tailor of Gloucester”. More on the “Tailor” at a later time.

I’m linking these photos of the exterior of Gloucester Cathedral for ABC Wednesday. Thank you to Denise Nesbitt and the ABC team.

gloucester cathedral 026

Here’s a great source for information about the cathedral that I found online. Click on Sacred Destinations to read about the cathedral.Bourton-Gloucester 036Although all periods of medieval church architecture are represented at Gloucester Cathedral, its two main building phases – Romanesque and Perpendicular, are of outstanding interest and importance.

gloucester cathedral 044To read about the history of the cathedral and architecture click on this link. The cathedral has some interesting links with America that I enjoyed reading here.

gloucester cathedral 045

gloucester cathedral 048

gloucester cathedral 055

gloucester cathedral 057

Bourton-Gloucester 033

Bourton-Gloucester 034

Bourton-Gloucester 037The interior of the Cathedral will take a few posts. This cathedral has so much beauty and interesting history to share.

I posted a recipe of Spicy Dark Chocolate Cookies my sister shared with me over at the “Girls” blog (Mennonite Girls Can Cook) These cookies have a nice surprise with a touch of cayenne and chili in them. Click here to get the recipe.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

22 thoughts on “Gloucester Cathedral

  1. Wow, who knew there were so many interesting connections between Gloucester and America! I really enjoyed reading that link especially. The Cathedral is beautiful, of course. And I look forward to seeing the interior.

  2. As they say, “Truly magnificent!”

    I’m so glad that I read the U.S. connections as now I have one. George Whitefield, the Billy Graham of his day, was a circuit rider and preached in my county and at the forerunner of my church. Gotta love connections.

    I want to thank you for your comment today. You really should write a post because those are wonderful tips for helping someone in the kitchen or anywhere.

  3. What blows me away is how these lovely cathedrals seem nearly devoid of people inside worshipping.
    I would have loved to be able to travel back in time to the first service held in these places.

  4. Yes, these cathedrals are quite something! Having just been inside some in the past few weeks, I am still amazed about the workmanship that went into these buildings without the technology and all that we have today. I also wonder why so much work went into these churches. Did workers get paid? Was it for the glory of man or God? I met a young lady in one cathedral who was moved to tears. She said she was not really religious, but this really touched her.
    I could not quite figure out what it was that touched her. Made me feel like I have a hard heart.
    God reveals himself in different ways and to me it’s not in what man has accomplished. Having said that, it is truly amazing to see what man, whom God created, can do.

  5. Such great photos Ellen. The roof lines, doors, windows, design, detail….lots of stories behind each one. Think of the man hours.

Leave a comment