Saints Peter and Paul Church ~San Francisco

For InSPIREd Sunday I decided to go to my archives to share some beautiful churches I’ve visited. When traveling I always keep an eye out for these grand old places of worship filled with history. Saints Peter and Paul Catholic Church originally served the immigrant Italian population that settled in San Francisco.

You can read some of the history of this church by clicking here. A ribbon of verse spans the facade from Dante’s “Paridiso” and translates,

“The Glory of Him who moves all things penetrates and glows throughout the universe.”

I copied the following information from Fodor’s,

“Camera-toting visitors focus their lenses on the Romanesque splendor of what’s often called the Italian Cathedral. Completed in 1924, the church has Disneyesque stone-white towers that are local landmarks. Mass reflects the neighborhood; it’s given in English, Italian, and Chinese. (This is one of the few churches in town where you can hear Mass in Italian.) Following their 1954 City Hall wedding, Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio had their wedding photos snapped here. On the first Sunday of October, a Mass followed by a parade to Fisherman’s Wharf celebrates the Blessing of the (Fishing) Fleet. Also in October is the Italian Heritage Parade in North Beach. The country’s oldest Italian celebration, it began in 1869.”

I certainly was one of those camera-toting visitors.

This stained glass window is a depiction of the wedding where Jesus performed his first miracle, changing water into wine.

Be sure to visit more churches from around the world by clicking here to the InSPIREd Sunday link up hosted by Beth and Sally.

We’ve had a busy weekend filled with gatherings and projects. Hope your Sunday finishes well.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

13 thoughts on “Saints Peter and Paul Church ~San Francisco

  1. That’s very impressive. I can’t help wonder how much places like that cost to build, and doubt whether many could afford to do it today! But wonderful to look at – amazing craftsmanship.

Leave a comment