Getty Museum ~ Blue

It’s time for Mosaic Monday hosted by Mary at Little Red House and Blue Monday hosted by Sally at Smiling Sally.

My mosaics and photos are all from the Getty Museum in Los Angeles, California except for one. If you are ever in the L.A. area and have the chance to visit this museum it is well worth it. The museum is free. Parking is $15.00. I will be sharing more photos from the Getty all this week. I’m starting with an outdoor mosaic. I spotted this hummingbird in the sunken garden at the museum.

 

I’m sure you will recognize the following works of art.

 

Irises ~ Vincent Van Gogh

 

Sunrise by Claude Monet

 

The Bridge over the Water-lily Pond ~ Claude Monet

 

The Rue Mosnier with Flags ~ Edouard Manet

 

Dancer Taking a Bow ~ Edgar Degas

 

My final blue is the pumpkin my daughter and a co-worker created for a no carve pumpkin contest.

 

Happy November everyone!

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

39 thoughts on “Getty Museum ~ Blue

  1. They have some great works there…but I must admit I loved seeing the hummingbird the most. The blue pumpkin is GREAT….very creative. Hope you have a grand Ellen…..

  2. I love your hummingbird mosaic! I do love all the birds but hummingbirds are special. Your visit to the getty museum sounds wonderful. The blue pumpkin is a wonderful entry for the pumpkin contest.

  3. Wow, great capture on the hummingbird — they are not easy to shoot! Loved the museum images, too. thanks so much for sharing your talent at MM. 🙂

  4. Thank you for bring some art into my life. Also very much enjoyed seeing the hummingbird. I was unable to get any pictures of them this year. Well good ones I should say. Your is perfect and so clear. You must be able to get many more varieties of them then we are in NEngland.
    carole

  5. That’s the first silver pumpkin I’ve seen….very creative.

    You really captured that hummingbird beautifully. Wasn’t the art amazing at the Getty….and so many different styles of art too.

    When I get back home next week I’ll catch up on your other Getty posts. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do.

  6. I enjoyed this visit to the museum but what really made me smile is Cinderella and her blue pumpkin. Now that is creativity and an idea I am storing away for future use 🙂

  7. Oh, Ellen, I love all of these paintings; you have included two of my favorites: Van Gogh’s Irises and The Bridge over the Water-lily Pond by Monet. I’m sure your daughter won that contest as her pumpkin is beautiful. Happy Blue Monday.

  8. I especially like Van Gogh’s Irises. The story behind The Laundress is very interesting. I would like to spend some time in that gallery. Roger and I noted on our trip to London that the museums there are all free too. If you take public transit, it’s an inexpensive way to spend a day.

  9. What a lovely post. You shown some of my favorite paintings. I do so love Van Gogh and Monet. We had the great fortune to see Monet’s home and gardens and they are as lovely as he portrayed them to be. Have a wonderful Blue Monday and enjoy the coming week.

  10. Thank you for taking us with you! I love art muesums and seeing famous art pieces. I don’t know how you captured that shot of the Hummingbird, but it’s great!

    Have a Happy Monday,
    Zuzu

  11. This is wonderful! We get to see the Getty Museum and enjoy the outing with you! Your humingbird photo is priceless!
    I’ve never heard of a no carve pumpkin contest. Good idea…no yuk on the hands!

  12. Hello Ellen, I love your art photos. Just beautiful. I loved the live art photo of the hummingbird too. Most of all the uncarved pumpkin should have won a prize. It is beautiful.

    Hugs, Jeanne

  13. Oh love your humming bird shots – precious – love it. The art work from Getty is amazing – just beautiful. Thanks for sharing. We’re going to visit family in California after the New Year – I’m going to make a point of visiting.

  14. Pingback: The Getty – The Happy Wonderer ~ ellen b.

Leave a comment