Outdoor Wednesday ~ The Getty Museum

Boy do these weeks just seem to be flying by. It’s time for Outdoor Wednesday again. So visit Susan at A Southern DayDreamer to see the outdoor world through the lens of bloggers.

Last Friday 3 of us bloggers got together at The Getty Museum in Los Angeles. The Getty sits high above Brentwood in the Santa Monica Mountains. We had great views this day of the Pacific Ocean, Catalina Island, Santa Monica, Westwood, The Miracle Mile. We could see all the way to Downtown Los Angeles.

 

This is Willow from Willow’s Cottage and me. Behind us you can see the Miracle Mile on Wilshire Blvd.

 

Sara from Much Ado About Something has a great post that talks about the architecture and amazing travertine marble used in the structures at the museum.

 

The travertine blocks are rough and filled with crystalline deposits and fossils.

 

 

Looking back at the main buildings from the Sunken Garden

 

 

 

Our time was at it’s end and Willow and I headed back North on the 405 fwy over the Sepulveda Pass and Sara headed south on the 405 fwy.

Photobucket is holding all my photos that I stored on their site from 2007-2015 hostage replacing them with ugly grey and black boxes and asking for a large ransom to retrieve them. It is a slow process to go through all my posts deleting the ugly boxes.

About Ellenhttps://happywonderer.com/I am a wife, mother, baba (grandmother) and a loyal friend. Jesus is my King and my hope is in my future with Him.

28 thoughts on “Outdoor Wednesday ~ The Getty Museum

  1. The Getty Center is truly one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen. And I’ve seen a lot of beautiful buildings. The combination of the marble and the inspired architecture make visiting the Getty an unforgettable experience. And I haven’t even mentioned the ART that is on display.

  2. I agree with Willow…this is one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen. The architectural elements are incredible… And that sunken garden is like an oasis… Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

    Jane (artfully graced)

  3. Hi Ms Ellen, you featured day shots and I featured night shots! That Friday turned out to be a nice weather for photography!

    These are great angles shots, too! Next time if I come back, I will take the first car of the tram! You gave me a good idea!

  4. Ellen, you got some great shots of the Getty. That sky sets it off perfectly as the color is the most amazing shade of blue. Love the building materials. My cousin is an architect, and I have always been interested in buildings and their materials. I would be interested in seeing this museum as well. I would think it would be pretty spectacular.

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

  5. Wow! If I’m ever in Southern California, that’s a definite destination for me!

    And thanks for the pic of Willow. Its always good to put a face with a blogging friend.

  6. How wonderful you were able to make a “connect” with other bloggers in your area. You certainly had beautiful weather. I really enjoyed the photos you shared with us. The museum is beautiful as are its surroundings. Have a great Outdoor Wednesday.

  7. This museum is spectacular and you have captured it well in your photos. I must say I’ve never been there but you could publish a PR folder for them with your photos.

  8. Great outdoor posting. Gosh, I envy bloggers who get to meet up with other bloggers. I have met with one and had such a great time. Looks like ya’ll had fun!! So glad.

  9. Pingback: The Getty – The Happy Wonderer ~ ellen b.

Leave a comment